THE GARDEN

of the.....

WESTERN DISTRICT.





1838—1928;

Compiled by the "Colac Herald” and Published With the Official Authority of the Corhirjittee of the

HOME TO Colac Celebrations.

1Q28.

■■■■91

I warrnambool institute library

^.sq-

Col/Clh


»    waRRNAMBOOL VIC. 328u

i    ---------


*



ILLUSTRATED HISTORY

of the——***

TOWN and DISTRICT.

4>~    <p


C0/iO


i.

J-9o2>4S&


Home,    Swee

Make Your Home Attractive

By Purchasing--—-----—

H. F. WARDEN and Go’s

== Furniture 6 Furnishings ==

Your Dining' Room made

A New Bedroom Suite

comfortable for the

with Lino Square and

family with one of out 7

Dainty Curtains to maKe your visitors feel at

piece Suites.

home.

™o°ms_ £19/10 to £35.

cs £11 to £32/10/-

A nice Moquette Suite with Carpet and Curtains to match is very-restful.

Suites from £17/10/- to £35.

Call on us for Free Advice.

The Place for VALUE and QUALITY

H. F. Warden 6 Co.,

Art Furnishers and General Drapers,

Phone 487.    Murray Street, Colac.


HSHBIt MAY be of interest to present day readers to give some idea of what the early pioneers did to-Ra! I§§! wal'ds the settlement of this part of the Western District, for it was in the year 183S a Mr Ricketls held the station furthest out on the Barwon, but immediately after that date Mr J. N. McLeod organised a party of new arrivals like himself, and penetrated to Lake Colac, which had already been discovered some three months before in the search for Gellibrand and Hesse. They also pushed further west so as to discover Lake Corangamite. They walked round the latter and found the natives very numerous; at the mouth of every little creek they startled a naked group, who gazed, dropped their fishing implements, and fled, concealing themselves amongst the scrub or up in the stoney rises. At night time they slept with a careful watch set, their horses tethered round them, and the blacks could be heard through the hours of darkness at their excited deliberations, chattering, no doubt, over the advent of those horse-riding intruders. But McLeod did not settle so far out. He selected land in October of the same year on the upper part of the Moorabool; but in the next month Hugh Murray went out with 100 sheep to Lake Colac; immediately afterliim came the two Lloyds and William Carter with 500. They agreed to join and form one station for mutual defence, and ere long came Pollock and Dewing, Bromfield and Watson, Hamilton and the Brothers Ware, till at the end of 1838 the whole of the Colac district was to a certain extent occupied. The natives were troublesome, spearing the sheep, or driving them off at night and breaking their legs, a hundred at a time, to prevent them escaping from the coverts into which they had been driven. The settlers were greatly exasperated on finding the animals in the

agonies of death from thirst and hunger, and the constant loss of valuable property tended to give the squatters a

(hirst for revenge, but except on one occasion when a native was shot in an encounter, there was no serious collision between the two races. Ere long came other squatters, Henry Hopkins and Thomas Crutch Dr. Morris and Messrs Airey and Darnell, till at length a little crowding took place, and the white men began to quarrel occasionally amongst themselves, and bitter words often followed, when one squatter discovered that‘his self-ap-propiated boundaries were being encroached upon by a neighbor or worst still, by a new arrival. A tacit understanding was then arrived at that no man was to settle within three miles of another, so that each would have u space of seven or eight miles at least free from encroachment. But whatever they might arrange among themselves, they knew very weil that they could not hope for permanent occupation, except by permission of the Government. Nobody dreamt of putting up a house. Frail huts of bark, or of reeds, daubed over with clay, formed their dwellings, and they slept on the bare earth, wrapping themselves round in their blankets. They lived on salt pork, and saved their sheep for breeding; damper was their bread, and they washed all down with .•draughts of dark tea sweetened with treacle-tinted sugar. As fcr furniture, it was unknown, except such as an axe could carve out of the surrounding timber. But they wore pioneers, and had to purchase in this way that affluence which, perhaps, one in four of them actually succeeded in attaining.

The first settlers had very great disheartening difficulties to contend with from intense heat and prolonged

Foe _/5 Yeats


J.




■and Co. Pty. Ltd.-



have been in the Estate Agency Business For those who would like a first -and during the period have sold thous- class speculation in real estate, we know ands of properties in Colac, and the sur- of nothing better to place before you rounding district.    than Apollo Bay allotments.

Experience of that character is most valuable, and it is at the disposal of all those who come Home to Colac.

An open invitation is extended to one and all to call and have a chat on real estate in either the town or country.

Colac has made wonderful progress in the past, and there are indications that it should forge ahead with still greater momentum,—our faith in it forces us to that conclusion.

This booklet will set before you the progress and possibilities of the town, therefore, it not settled, why not decide, now that you have come home to Colac, to stay at “Home.”

This seaside resort, which will be the motor tourist capital of the Otway, offers wonderful advantages,—let us show you the plans, and elaborate thereon.

In addition to these activities, we are also AUCTIONEERS AND LIVE STOCK AGENTS, in fact, we can attend your wants in any agency matter, from rent collecting, fire and life insurance, to looking after your passage on any steamship line to any part of the world.

Our address is the same as it was 45 years ago,—46 MURRAY Si., COLAC, and the present personnel of the Com pany is.—J. G. JOHNSTONE, Chairman of Directors, T. W. JOHNSTONE, J. N. JOHNSTONE, J. S. BROWN, E. KERR, and J. A. McCALLUM, Directors.

I


drought, and at times from the ruinous depreciation in the price of sheep and cattle, and many insolvencies resulted therefrom. The foremost breeder was Mr William Robertson. Messrs Hugh and Andrew Murray were also well-known as successful breeders of fine stock, likewise also their relative, Mr John Calvert. Some time before the gold discovery in other parts of the State the towu-

ship had so far progressed that Mr Thomas Hill erected a flour mill on the lake side, the large and abundant corn crops furnishing a good supply of wheat for the mill, and the flour was in great demand on all the goldfields. Some salt lakes adjoining led Mr Berry, of Melbourne' to erect large salt works there, and for some years an immense business in the industry was done.

In the vicinity of Colac, and within ten miles of it, is what has long been known as the Red Rock—the stretch ot country round this is most beautiful, and can hardly be surpassed for loveliness. Of it a much travelled visitor lately declared his opinion—“That once seen it can never be forgotten.” Within a short distance is to be found Lake Corangamite, the largest and most salty lake in the State, and extending to and beyond Camper-down. This lake is nearly 100 miles round, but the water appears to be too salt to make it likely it will ever be stocked with fish. Many thousands ot acres of land have been selected in what is called Beech Forest, and of the land generally in the forest, it may be said it varies greatly in quality, being sometimes a very high quality and in others very indifferent, but in all cases, very heavily timbered. One of the chief industries in the early days of Colac was that of rabbit preserving, which was carried on at a factory on the outskirts of the town under the management of Mr Farrington. From a half-a-milliou to a million canisters were sent yearly to London, so that the Colac cannistered rabbits became known all over the world. Enough has been said of the extraordinary wealth, resources, and beauty of this portion of the Western District, and from which no visitor can return without being amply and abundantly compensated for the trouble taken and time and money spent. Thus Colac can claim to be one of the oldest settled districts of Victoria, as it can, with equal truth, claim to be one of the most fertile and beautiful.

SOME HISTORIC NAMES.

Among the earliest residents of Colac a few lines regarding them will not be out of place here.

Simon Campbell came to Victoria in 1849 from County Clare, Ireland, and arrived in Colac the same year. He commenced business as a blacksmith, and in a short time shod the first police horse in Colac.

James Dowling, a native of Tasmania, came to Colac in 1S49, and purchasing land, carried on the business of a grazier, etc.

George Dunoon was a native of Scotland, and arrived in Colac in the year 1867, where he commenced business as a tailor and outfitter. He was the second resident tailor in the town, which then had a population of 300. At that time the aborigines were numerous, and frequently held carousals in Murray Street.

George H. Hills was a Victorian native, and at the age of 9 years arrived in Colac in the early sixties. He held the position of Shire Inspector for one year.

In 1S50, James Hills, who was of Kentish descena arrived in Colac, and established himself in business as a general storekeeper. He took an active interest in the Church of England and the Public Library, and was one of the originators of the Melbourne Cricket Club. He was one of the first jurymen in the Supreme Court, when it was held in a store.

John Glass Johnstone was born in Geelong in 1857, and came to reside in Colac with his parents in 1867. His father, a saddler, carried on a business in Murray Street, and with him, about 1S78, he went into partnership in the saddlery trade, with a tannery in conjunction, and remained in it until 18S3, when he entered on the business of auctioneer and real estate agent, which is still being carried on under the name of J. G. Johnstone and Co. Pty. Ltd. Mr Johnstone has taken a very active par: in the progress of Colac, and at one time or another has occupied almost every position of importance.

Robert Lawler was born in Colac in the year 1853, and took up farming and grazing as a means of livelihood.

Andrew Murray was born in Edinburgh in 1822 and arrived in Colac in 1840. In partnership with his brother Hugh, they took up the Wool Wool station. Mr Murray was the first settler in that part of the country.

Mr Thos. Dare, although residing at Darling, still retains interest in this district. His sons are in the dairying industry. Mrs Dare is a native of Colac.

ILLUSTRATED HISTORY 01* THE TOWN AND DISTRIC"

Let Us Furnish


I


I


YOUR

HOME

— then you will be satisfied Our Furnishing's are of the Finest Quality, being manufactured by the most sKillful worKmen.

Call and discuss your Furniture problems with us—we are then better equipped to advise and assist you.

Our Specialties include a larg'e assortment of Dining' Room Suites, Lounge Suites, Sideboards, Bedroom Suites, Floor Covering's, Bedding's, Blinds and Curtains.

Terms can be arrang'ed to suit all Clients.

JOHNSTONE and SONS,

Furniture Showrooms,

Murray STREET,    Phone 66.    COCAC.


OlOTOIOlOIOIOrQ

Mr Patrickk Hayden, of Colac East, remembers the early settlement, being an employee on the late William Robertson’s “The Hill,” estate. For many years he had been farming at Irrewillipe East. Although in his eighties and with loss of sight, is hale an hearty and is keen to meet many of the former residents.

The firm of Messrs Robertson and McIntosh was opened in the seventies on a site now occupied by the .Victoria Motor Garage. The property was in later ’years purchased by the late Mr George Scott, and again changed hands to Messrs Sydenham and Smith. Mrs Margaret Robertson, of Queen Street, is the wife of the late Mr Robertson, and is 85 years of age. Mrs Will C. Sydenham and Mrs Lock are daughters.

Daniel Thomas was born in England in 1833, and arrived in Colac in 1862, purchasing a tannery in the same year. In 1864 he was elected a member of the Shire Council, and remained in office for three years, when he resigned, being re-elected in 1877. He was Shire President in the years 1882-83, and also in 1886. Mr Thomas took a keen interest in local matters, and took a prominent part in the formation of the I.O.O.F., local hospital and the Public Library.

Thomas E. Tulloh, a native of Scotland, settled in Colac as a general storekeeper.

George Wilmot, a Tasmanian native, commenced the cordial manufacturing business in Colac in the year 1877.


Charles Prigg was a native of England, and came to Colac in 1848. He became interested in farming, and later took on contracting. In 1898 he made the first metalled road in Colac. Mr Prigg also had a brickmaking plant in 1870.

William Robertson, senr., was born at Alvey, Inverness, Scotland, in 1798. In 1842 he purchased the property so well known as “The Hill,” and carried on farming and grazing which today stands as a landmark to his memory.

William Robertson, junr., was a member of the Vic torian Legislative Council and also was a barrister and solicitor. He practised at his profession for eight or nine years, after which he joined his father on Colac property. He was President of the Colac Shire in 1877.

John Woods, whose father was one of the oldest residents of the Colac district, is the proprietor of the Colac “Herald,” which started operations in 1869, and subsequently purchased the Colac “Observer,” which had then been in operation for three years. Mr Woods was the first to introduce a printing machine, and afterwards the first gas engine worked in the district.

John Wray came to Colac at the early age of 6 years with his parents. In 1864 he went to Wool Wool Station as manager for Mr Andrew Murray, after which he purchased the property on which he had carried on his business as a grazier.

P. C. Wilson arrived in Colac in 1856. After following various pursuits he ivas appointed in 1864 Secretary to the Shire Council, and held that position for close on 40 years.


• W

VAL. M. PEARSON,

Optician and Refractionist,


The Leading House for the Newest in OPTICAL GOODS, .s.

@V_y§>

Eyesight Scientificially Tested.


Fitted with Shell Frames or Rimless and Gold Rimmed Spectacles.

©V_/G)

Oculist’s Prescriptions Carefully made up,

©We)

REPAIRS A SPECIALITY

w

| Muizay Sheet, Colac.

Established 4$ Yeazs. w


Phoiie i43.

The late Mr Andrew Edward Wilson came to this district nearly 80 years ago. Born in Scotland, he came here as a young man with his wife. He was engine driver at Woods’ Flour Mill, and afterwards took up land and carried on farming. His son, Mr John Wilson, was born on the property on which he lives, about 70 years ago. Mr Wilson has taken a keen interest in the P. and A. Society and the Colac Turf Club. Mrs J. G. Johnstone is a daughter, also Miss Mary Wilson.

Mrs Samuel Maxfield claims to be the first white child born in Colac. She still continues to carry on her household duties.

Mr and Mrs Robert Webster arrived here in tile .'early sixties. Mr 'Webster was a brickmaker by occupation, and a few years later became manager of Mr. Usher’s brickyard. Coming to Colac they travelled in the same conveyance as Mr George McLeod, who for many years was the road foreman of the Shire. Of Mr Webster’s family Mrs Gaviard (Colac), who is one of the oldest adherents of Wesley Church, Mrs Chas. E. Welsher, who for many years was a school teacher and resigned to take up Home Missionary work with the .Methodist Church, and now stationed at Apollo Bay. Mr ’Walter Webster resides in Melbourne.


The late Mr Dennis, accompanied by his wife and daughter, left Cornwall in 1839, coming to Victoria in the sailing ship “John Bull,” arriving at Melbourne in the following year. A short while after the family came to this district, Mr Dennis purchased the interests of Messrs Matson Bros., the holding then extending to the Barwon River. Some years later the Crown excised a small area as a reserve for aborigines. Mr Dennis erected the fine homestead in 1842, and in the same year Mr Richard Dennis was born. Mr Richard Dennis eventually became owner of “Tarnwarncoort,” and at his death the family retained tlieproperty. “ “Tarnwarncoort” is a noted grazing property. The present owners are recognised as flockmasters throughout the State. They have successfully introduced the Polwarth Sheep. The Dennis family have always been recognised as generous to various charities. The late Mr Dennis erected the Methodist Parsonage at Colac East, and presented same to the Church Trustees.

The late Mr David Prosser was born at Brecon (Wales) in 1828. He reached Australian shores in 1856 accompanied by his brother and Mr David Price,ofBir-regurra, in the sailing ship “Ocean Chief,” after a voyage of thirteen weeks. Mr Prosser went to the Pleasant Creek gold rush and there he first met the late Mr C. L. Forrest. About two years later he selected land and engaged in farming pursuits until about four years prior to his death. When 12 years of age he won his first ploughing competition. He won the first and several other ploughing contests at the Polwarth and South Grenville show (now P. and A. Society). He also won numerous other contests, his last win when 63 years of age. He was a noted horse breeder, winning at numerous shows including (he Royal Show, Melbourne. His children are:-—Mrs Dudlop (deceased), Messrs Charles, William, David,, Arthur, Edward, Rutland, Mesdames Pick ford, Chambers and Miss Prosser.

Mr William Lee, of Colac, came to the district 53 years ago from Geelong. He has been in the building trade during that period, and has been a member of the Colac I.O.O.F. Lodge for over 50 years.

Messrs W. and A. Gaylard came to Colac as young men, and after working for several years at the “Bar-ongarook” estate, became road contractors to the Roads Board, afterwards the Shire of Colac. This occupation they carried on until Mr Walter Gaylard met with a serious blasting accident at the Hieland Hill Quarries, resulting in Mr Gaylard becoming permanently blind, and his mate killed. Several sons and grandchildren of the deceased gentlemen reside in the district. Mrs Lemon, of Colac, is a sister to Messrs Gaylard Bros.

~ Mr William Clarke, plumber, cf Colac, succeeded to the business established by his father, Mr Thomas Clarke, who was one of the oldest tradesmen of the town. Mr Clarke, like his father, has retained interest in the Colac Methodist Church.

Parking Area—Murray Street. 9

Quality


Telephone 94


'Prices

• •

jvjovf    And Purchase all—

Saddlery, Grindery, Sporting and Travelling Goods from—

Rankin Foley,

Saddlers 6 Harness MaRers.

MOTORISTS! !

Get New HOODS, TYRE COVERS and SPRING GARTERS from us.

ALL REPAIRS A SPECIALTY.

Mr Theodore Hancock was a former resident of Colac district, taking up a selection of land at “Yeomount,” Bir-regurra. He followed agricultural pursuits and practised the profession of solicitor, visiting Colac two days a week. Cr. John Hancock is a son, and is a well-known district grazier, and one of the oldest Councillors of the Shire. He is President of the Municipal Association, a member of the Health Commission of Victoria, President of the Colac Turf Club. In his younger days he was a prominent oarsman, and in previous years occupied the position of President of the Colac Regatta.

Mr W. O. Read, a well-known grazier, is a native of Warrion district, being a son of the late Mr Read, of “Melrose,” Warrion. lie took a prominent part in assisting the committee of the P. and A. Society in securing a new show grounds, when the former ground was resumed by the Railways Department .

Mr W. R. Edgar was for 30 years interested in the development of Colac and district. His name is a household word throughout the farming community. In dairy machinery, cream separators, and milking machines, some hundreds of these were instituted by his intution. For many years he has been a member of the Colac P. and A. Society, and at one time a large exhibitor.

Mr John A. Thompson arrived in Colac in 1871. He has followed the tinsmithing and plumbing trade during that time. Recently his business was formed into a proprietary company with his sons as partners. His present site was portion of the Colac show grounds and he acquired it at £40 to the block.He is now in his SOth year.

One of the first trades to be started in Colac was established by the late John Dalton in 1858, was that of coachbuilding. Today the business is being carried on by his grandsons.


Mr Thomas Inglis was one of the first carpenters in the district. Some members of the family still reside in the town. Cr. Thos. Inglis is a property owner at Alvie and is still interested in the butter factory of Messrs Wallace and Inglis, at Alvie. Mr James Inglis is a retired farmer whose farm is at Cororooke. Mr “"George Inglis is with the Education Department and is Head Teacher of a district school. Mrs W. A. Johnstone, of Melbourne, is a sister. Members of the family are actively engaged in the farming industry of the district. Mrs George Inglis, who was born in the district, has identified herself chiefly with St. Andrew’s Church and P.W.M.U.

Mr Arch M. Bryan Is a native of the Colac district. With several of his brothers, founded the firm of Messrs Bryan Bros,, windmill manufacturers. He acquired the business on his own account many years ago. His mills are in use all over Australia. Besides employing a large number of hands, a branch of the parent company has been established at West Footscray.

Mr William Marriner, of the “Fulham Nurseries," Colac, is a son of the late Mr George Marriner, who established the nurseries and opened business in Murray Street and was amongst one of the first businesses established in the town.

Messrs Henry and Clarke llett, although only recent residents of the town are natives of Warrion, where their father, Mr William llett, purchased land in the early days.

Mr John Morrison, of Colac, arrived in the State in 1854. In 1857 he took up land in the Wycheproof district. In 1880 he returned to Colac and carried on business of that as a builder. He has erected some fine buildings in the district.

Mr Richard Morrison, of “Dumfries,” Queen Street, came to Colac with his parents and other members of the family from Geelong. For many years Mr Morrison was engaged in business in Colac, but of recent years retired. He was also interested in land, and his knowledge of land values are of Interest.

Tbe House of JEFFERY’S

Extend a Welcome to all Home Comets to visit tl?em in tfeir JJSffew Premises.


8

1

<«>

«

I

1

I



u-


j


G



The House for COAT and FROCK FASHIONS—-

SEE JEFFERYS FIRST

for the Neu):st and most attractive numbers in every department.


QUJLITY-


CHA%M


UP- TO - DA TEN ESS MODERATE PRICES-


MILLINERY

Smart Continental Styles, in Fashion’s Favoured Materials.


HOUSEHOLD LINENS

High Standard Quality of Household Linens, which we recomend to you as proved sellers.


MERCERY & CLOTHING

It will pay you, before purchasing, to inspect our stock of Mercery & Clotl.ing



JEFFERY & CO.,

DRAPERS, MILLINERS and MERCERS.........

Murray Street -    -    - Colac.

Phone 93.

®®®®sx^sxs<jxj>$®(sxixs><nxsxt>®^

Mr and Mrs William Fulton, of Church Street, were .amongst the earliest residents. Mr Fulton carried on ■the business ol' a hoot and shoe store. Mr John FultOD of Colae, followed in the trade of that of his father, ■until a few years ago, when he retired from business. Mr John Fulton has always identified himself with many pub-■lie bodies, representing the Colac riding of the Shire of Colac, Justice of the Peace, Past Grand Lodge Officer of ■the I.O.O.F., and Director of the Gas Coy.

The late Mr Burton Marshall arrived here in the early seventies with his wife and family. Mr Thomas Marshall was in business in premises now occupied by Dalgety and Co. When Mr Marshall sold out his brother commenced in business at the top of Murray Street. During his lifetime he was associated with many public movements. He was an active member of St. John’s Church of England Choir, singing there for over fifty years.


Mr John Gibson came to this town as a young man, after a voyage by sailing ship occupying nearly four months. He commenced business as a bootmaker on a site now occupied by Mr F. Webb’s residence, in Chappie Street. He afterwards left Colac with his family for New South Wales to take up land. One of his sons, Mr Robert Gibson, who realised the great importance of irrigation, and originated the project of the great Burrin-Juck Scheme. He endeavoured to float a company to develop this national asset. After the plans, etc., had been formulated, the New South Wales Government took control. It will some day be the greatest national asset undertaken by any government for successful closer settlement. Mr Gibson was deprived of any compensation.

When the Willis family arrived in Colac they had formerly been in occupation of the Western Inn, at lire-warra. The building has recently been demolished.

Those of the early settlers of the fifties were Mr and Mrs William Pink, when the land selection took place in the Beeac district. Mr Charles Pink was born at ,Colac; the other members of the family were born at Beeac. Mr Charles Pink represented the Beeac riding in the Colac Shire Council. He has been a trustee of the Colac Methodist Church, and for over 20 years in a •Similar capacity of the Beeac Methodist Church.

Mr Samuel Talbot came to Colac over 60 years ago. Born at Somerset, he came to Colac as a young man; he was employed as an overseer on several stations. Later "ne took up land and carried on farming until his death, a few years ago. Several of his daughters are residing in the town.

Mrs L. Chant is a native of Colac, and has seen all the progress of the town and district.


The late Mr and Mrs Mark Marks were the licensees of the Preseverence Hotel, on a site near Mr Sanson's •butcher shop. Mr Marks was a road contractor, and amongst some of the contracts carried by him was the road through the racecourse cutting.

Messrs Walter and William Selwood are members of one of the earliest families in the town, being sons of the late Mr James and Mrs Selwood. They have always taken a lively interest in progressive movements in the town.




Murray Street, :: :: Colac.

TIMBER YARDS, BUILDERS and CONTRACTORS.

Hardware Merchants. Household Ironmongers,]] Licensed Radio Dealers. Modern Electric Saw and Joinery worKs.


The late Mr Donald Dunoon was amongst the early

tradesmen in establishing business in 1859, in premises on site of Paramount Theatre. Later he removed to Church Street, thence to Murray Street. Mr William Dunoon, a son, still carries on the saddlery and harness manufacturing, whilst Mr John Dunoon is a carpenter. Mr David M. Dunoon is Shire Secretary. During the great war Mr. D. M. Dunoon was hon. secretary to Colac Patriotic Fund, Belgian relief. He was presented by the King of Belgium in 1921 with the medal of King Albert, in recognition of services rendered to the suffering Belgians during the war period.

Hugh Murray was born in Scotland, and came to Colac in 1840, and in company with a number of other settlers was one of the party organised to go out in search of Gellibrand and Hesse, which had started out on an exploring expedition. Blacks were very numerous at this time, and Mr Murray, when out looking for some sheep which were being harried by their dogs, came across their camp, and at first they appeared to be very hostile, but eventually became very friendly, one of their number, Jim Crow, remaining in his employ until the death of of Mr Murray. During the early days of Colac Mr Murray took a great interest in the welfare of the town, becoming the first President and also the first Justice of the Peace.

Coming out to Victoria with his parents at the age of six by the sailing ship “Lady Elgin” the late Mr Thomas Baker resided near the shores of Lake Coranga-mite. Some years later he became interested in agricultural pursuits and formed a syndicate to purchase the Corunnun estate. Mr Baker was the first landholder to subdivide a big area, which enabled residents with modest means to purchase land, that eventually made them their own landowners. Mr Baker was a staunch advocate for the subdivision of estates on the volcanic area. Some years later, he, with Mr F. G. Sydenham, founded the firm of Baker, Sydenham & Co, after which Dalgety Co. acquired the business. Mr Baker represented Polwarth in the Legislative Assembly, and for many years represented the Corangamite riding in the Shire Council.

Mr James Wray resided on the property on which he was born for sixty years. He is an old athlete and a prominent figure at sports gatherings, dispensing music for national dances.

The late Mr John Parkes came to the district in 1856

and in 1S02 established a furniture warehouse in Murray Street: much of his handicraft is still in use. Two of his sons carry on the business: Mr Charles Parkes and Mr Frank Parkes. Mr Frank Parkes has identified himself with the Methodist Church work for many years. For upwards of 20 years he was Captain of the Colac Fire Brigade, and was awarded the Long Service Medal by the Country Fire Brigades’ Board. A former commissioner of the Colac Waterworks Trust and for over 30 years a member of the Colac District Hospital Committee of Management.

Perhaps the late Mr Ben Jas. Miller could lay claim to being the oldest Public Servant in the district, arriving in Colac in 1849. Coming from England in the same year, he enlisted as a mounted Constable of Police, and was appointed to Colac a few weeks afterwards. He returned to Melbourne and with his wife and child (now Mrs J. Nelson) made the journey in a mail cart from Geelong, which was simply a square two-wheeled vehicle that went by the name of a Smithfield meat cart. It may be mentioned here that Mr and Mrs Miller's baby was born on the “General Palmer,” a sailing vessel, w.hen passing Cape Otway. On arrival at Colac the newcomer (baby) soon proved an accession to the infant community The Rev. Mr M. Gow, Presbyterian Minister, held a service at which the baby was christened, in a little church built of timber and roofed with palings and bark, and weighted down with logs. This punitive building stood where the Presbyterian Manse now stands. This was the first Presbyterian Church in Colac. Mr John Nelson is a son-in-law of the late Mr and Mrs Miller, and also for some years carried on business as auctioneer and at present lives a retired life. Mrs W. E. Stevens, of Manifold Street, is a grand-daughter.

Mr James Murdoch established a boot and shoe store in the early days in premises adjacent to Church Street. His son, the late Mr James Murdoch, was for upwards of forty years the chief accountant of Messrs J. G. Johnstone and Co., and a prominent oarsman. His wife, Mrs Murdoch, and daughter, Miss Alison Murdoch, are residents here, and Mr Alan Murdoch is manager of the Commercial Bank at Kaniva.


0


0


©

■9


BAKER

a Phone 149    COLAC Y


l For....



HAPPY THE BRIDE

WI,o«e Wed-din^ Brcakfant Was {or a central feature one o{ our

Wedding Cakes

WE’LL QUOTE YOU FOR ANY KIND.

SEE US TO-DAY 1

l ROY RAGGATT

i

DAINTY CAKES HIGH CLASS CATERING

and...

The Best Bread GO TO

MADE wUW BIG PLUMP FRUIT

—REAL BUTTER and EGGS, then baked by EXPERT BAKERS—

No v/ondcr our Pound Cake wins ' hundreds of friends. TRY SOME TO-DAY.

iROY RAGGATT J

ffi -    BAKER

$ PW* 1U9    COLAC

V


The “TROCADERO

[ Inglis Buildings ]

COLAC


MURR AY STREET —

| PIES & PASTIES 1

— ALL HOT 1 f



0 0

0

ffi

y that you have no need to make y ^Pies at Home. Fcr Meat Pies \V and Fruit Pies come to a


0


Where Everything is---

New and Up-to date-


jpee

0 0 0 0 0 0

I Kse^tWe KIDDIES



0

0

0

0

0


0

0

0

0

©


ROY RAGGATT


0

0

0


ABLOOM!


I ROY RAGGATT J

i    BAKER    QQ

y Phone 149    COLAC 2

VB»a»S=>    JZ<&


Proprietor Phone 149


LESS SWEETS and MORE of tk« DAINTY “COOKIES” from our Baker*} ia tke BEST of ECONOMY.


©

©


lROY RAGGATT

(JO    BAKER

X Phone 1>I9    COLAC A



n


ILLUSTRATED HISTORY OF THE TOWN AND DISTRICT.

s)®®®®®®®®®®®®®1®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®W


[OIOIOIOIOI




/JurraySl!

COLAC

Drapers, Grocers

and ..

General Merchants

Colac’s Oldest Storekeepers

Who for 25 years have successfully carried their Slogan :: :: :: :: ::

“Good Goods” “Little Prices”

A Trial will convince how thoroughly this is maintained at-

“The Economic”

®®®®<®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®<*$ 18

As one who can rank as one of the oldest residents, is Mr Mark Jacob, of Beeac. Mr Jacob came to this country as an apprentice on a sailing ship. Whilst loading cargo at Geelong, he cleared out, and with a companion travelled in a westerly direction. He worked on several stations, including that of Mr Wm. Robertson’s run. “The Hill.” Mr Jacob constructed the stone walls between Dreeite and Beeac, this being “The Hill” boundary^ These stone walls have stood over sixty years to Mr Jacobs’ fine workmanship.

The late Mr Michael Troy, whose death occurred last year, came to the district in his boyhood days with his father in the seventies, selected land at Ondit. He purchased Shorthorn cattle from Mr John Calvert and became a breeding district exhibitor at agricultural shows. His widow died last year. Of their children, Father Troy, Messrs Dennis and John Troy, are sons. Three daughters entered the convent, two of which are deceased. Mother Stanislaus is a daughter, and Misses Mary and Joan Troy are daughters.


Mr L. M. Calvert is a grandson of the late Mr John Calvert, of Irrewarra. His grandfather took up land at Irrewarra in the forties. His grandfather imported the dairy Shorthorn Cattle into the district.

Amongst the early residents who came to the district is Mr Issac Hebb, who still enjoys health, and has seen the wonderful advancement of the town and district. For many years Mr Hebb was in the footwear business, and a few years ago retired. 1-Ie disposed of his property, on which were erected up-to-date shops. With his late sister, Miss Hebb, they have taken a very earnest interest in the Methodist Church, and was for many years an officer of the Elliminyt Church. Mr Hebb has a fund of information relative to the town, and his biographies are of much interest.

Mr Maxfield arrived in the district in the fifties, and rlater managed the tannery for Mr Daniel Thomas. Mr Abraham Maxfield was a son, also Mr Samuel Maxfield, „of Murray Street, Colac.

The late Mr Thomas Sharrow was born in England. He served with the Sappers and Mining Corps during the Crimean War. He came to Australia in the sailing ship “Escort;” he was an employee to the grand father of Mr A. A. Sleight. He arrived in Colac in 1SS6. and established business, and later started a saw mill at Gellibrand. Amongst the many buildings erected by Mr Sharrow is the old homestead on “Corangamite” estate, at Pirron Yalloak. The family included, George, William and Thomas, and the Misses Sharrow, of Calvert Street.

Mr Henry Pell is the son of the pioneer builder, the late John Pell, who erected the State School in the seventies, and the former Methodist Church in Murray St., and first portion of the Colac Disrict Hospital. Mr Henry Pell, when 14 years of age, supervised on behalf of his father the building of the Victoria Hall, and many of the leading public buil,di(ngs and business lrouses of the town.

Mrs Armstrong, “Glen Yeo,” a native of the district, has seen the development of the town and district. The late Mr George Armstrong had been for many years a director of the Colac Dairying Co.

A tin of Canned Rabbit was left last week at the "Herald" Office, by Mrs Smith, relict of the late Mr T. V. Smith, whp was the meat preserver of the Western Preserving Company in the eighties. This tin was opened by a member of the "Herald" staff, and the contents were found to be In a wonderful state of preservation, the food being quite sweet and of good color. This canned rabbit was preserved at Colac in 1880, so that the contents were over 43 years old when the tin was opened, and its condition speaks volumes for the efficient methods adopted forty odd years ago.

King Carney’s

Hand Made

BOOTS SHOES

Many “Back to Colacites” will no doubt recall Carney’s celebrated HAND MADE BOOTS and SHOES. Starting in Beeac 25 years ago. with a pair of hands and a few tools, the “King” soon rose to fame as a Bootmaker of rare ability. Strong demand soon set in for his well known Hand Made Watertights and Farmer’s Boots.

In order to be in a more central position. CARNEY removed to Colac some years ago—a step that has never been regretted.

Many “Back to Colacites” still place their orders with the “King/’ who will be pleased to see them during their sojourn in Colac

King Carney also holds Dr. Scholl’s Diploma,


Tired and Defective Feet are given a New Lease of Life,

IN EVERY PAIR


The late Mr John Darcy came to the district over 70 years ago with his parents. They selected land at Beeac, and retained interest in the “Nalingoort” property until his death. Members of the family are:—Mr Clias. Darcy (Alvie); Mr Thos. Darcy (Weering); Mr L. Darcy (Riverina), Mr P. Darcy (Eurack) and late Mr J. Darcy are sons.

For many years the Anthony family had taken more than a lively interest in the progres of the town. The late Mr James Anthony was the owner of the Victoria Hotel, and took a leading part in public affairs.

The late Mr Patrick Danaher arrived in Victoria in 1S48, and settled in Colac in 1852, where success crowned the efforts of a vigorous life. He secured a property in Calvert Street, now owned by a daughter, Miss L. Danaher, where she and a grandson, Mr Will Danaher, reside.

Mrs Danaher died in 1910, at the age of 84 years, after a residence of 76 years in Colac.

Memorial Square, Covered with Snow, 1927.

Mrs Elizabeth Brown was born at Robertson’s run, (“The Hill.”    Cororooke),    some    80 yeare 'ago.

She married the late    David O’Dowd, and

moved to the St. Arnaud district, where they conducted (Public hostels at Donald and Cope Cope, and later on, at Colac East. They selected what is now a valuable <area of land in the Colac district, but lost it through misplacing the title deeds. In later years she married Timothy McMahon Brown, a relative of Marshal McMahon, of the French army during the Franco,Prussian war, and who was surrendered with 70,000 men in the fortress of Metz. Mrs Brown, who also lost her second husband, resides in Skene Street, Colac.

Mr Edward Bowen, of Pollock Street, was one of the earliest pioneers to select land in the Otway Forest at Gellibrand. Mr Bowen labored there, meeting with untold difficulties, and on one occasion had to take his family into a 'dam, when one of the most severe lires was raging, to save them. He retired a few years ago and looks back on the wonderful progress made in the Forest.

The late Mr John Baker, of Larpent, was an early settler in the district, coming to Mr William Robertson’s in the sixties. Later he acquired property at Larpent, now the residence of Captain Robert E. Baker. Mr John Baker, of Colac, is also a son.

Charles Arthur Foley was born in Tasmania in 1866, and arrived in Colac at a very early age. For a long timthe carried on business as a baker and caterer. He wai also a prominent member of the Fire Brigade, Harmonic Society, and Rowing Club. He was a member of the winning crew at Barwon Regatta in the nineties; included in the winning crew were Messrs P. J. McLeod, Thee Hancock, and H. Cooper, with A. Whitson as cox.

The late Mr Robert Sitlington came to the district about 1864, and started business in Murray Street. Several members of the family still, carry on the business in Murray Street. Mr F.W. Sitlington is the only son in Colac.

Mrs G. F. Sydenham has been a resident of the town .since childhood. She has identified herself with many activities of the town, and is an honorary supervisor of •the Childrens’ Welfare Department.

Mr George Bell, of Hesse Street, who still does “striking at the forge,” remembers the coaching days, being a stable boy employed by Cobb and Co. at the iivery stables on a site afterwards acquired by the Salvation Army, at the rear of Dalgety and Co. Besides wishing to meet former Colacites, he hopes to meet Mr Smiley, a former coach driver for Cobb and Co.

Mr John Turner, of Wilson Street, is a native of Colac, and until recent years he was actively engaged in farming at Nalangil.

The late Mr Chas. Forrest was the owner of the “Warrowie” estate, near Irrewarra. For nearly a quarter of a century he represented Polwarth in the Legislative Assembly. Mr J. G. Johnstone succeeded Mr Forrest as member for Polwarth.

Mr James Hill was amongst the first business men in Murray Street. His children were Mr G. H. Hills, “Tarnalla,” Elliminyt; late Mr Jas. E. J. Hills, Mr Chas. Hills, and Mrs G. F. Sydenham, who are still residents of the district.

Edward William Proctor was born on the Sth October, 1S46, in the Crook and Plaid Hotel, which was situated on the site now occupied by Dalgety and Co., Murray St,

The late Arthur Henry Elston was a native of Devonshire, and came to Colac 35 years ago. He took an active interest in the Fire Brigade, and was also a prominent member of S.S. John’s Church of England.

Mr William James in his early days brought many of the older inhabitants of Colac district from Geelong with his team of bullocks and dray, and as a coincident, when gathering statistics for the Government, Mr James met an old neighbor from the old country, in the Beeac district, the late Thomas Judd, with his wife and young family camped very close to where their family home now stands. Mr Judd was ploughing the virgin soil and preparing for one of the first crops to be sown in the Beeac district.

Strange as it may seem to the present generation Mrs James and her mother got lost in the bush quite close to where the bridge now crosses the Creek in Murray Street.

Several of Mr James’ family have taken an active interest in Colac until quite recently, amongst them being Messrs George, Charles, Jack and Arthur James.

BIG STORE, Phone, Colac, 15, 27

ALVIE STORE, Phone 8, Alvie.

Furniture'

Bedding

Drapery

Showroom

Dressmak

ing

Millinery

Clothing

Tailoring


Boots and Shoes Grocery Vines and Spirits Produce Ironmongery

Crockery

GrOWYl wlth the yeazs of Piogzess to meet the demands of your Thziving Town

The District’s Popular Shopping Centre

BUSINESS Established by SERVICE


COLAC.-

HE GARDEN OF VICTORIA!” In such terms has the Colac district been described. And Colac is its centre, its capital. It is a township pulsating with

_ life, and all that makes for progress. And in its

prosperity is reflected the greaj. resources of the country by which it is bounded. Its history is one o£ steady growth. From an insignificant country village a comparatively few years ago. it has developed into one of the most important townships of the State. The possibilities for progress were always present, but whilst the whole countryside was held in large estates, it was almost squeezed out of existence. Its progress was limited by the boundaiy fences of the sheep and cattle runs. Just a word or two in regard to the early settlement of the district. Mr James Robertson and Mr William Robertson came from Tasmania about 1842, aud purchased “The Hill” estate of 6000 acres at 15/ an acre.

A Review.

population of about 5000. Valuations have steadily Increased, for in the year 1864 the gross annual valuation amounted to £51,680, whilst today the annual valuation for the whole Shire stands at £335,240. In the year quoted there was no Colac Riding, Corangamite, Beeac, and Weering being the ridings to constitute the governing body of the Shire of Colac. It might be interesting to mention here that now the Colac riding returns an annual valuation for the last financial year of £57,648.

Murray Street, the main business thoroughfare is every year becoming more up-to-date, as far as the standard of buildings is concerned, and some of the business places compare more than favorably with what is seen in many other country towns of about the same size.

In the way of banks the town is well served, there being branches of the Commercial, National, E. S. and A.,


Ten years later the Robertsons purchased Captain Fyan’s Crown leasehold and stock, and it was the brand F.F. retained by Mr Robertson, which became so well known throughout Victoria as distinctive of an excellent breed of cattle. At the death of Mr Robertson, the estate was divided among his four sons—Mr William Robertson taking “The Hill,” Mr John Robertson, “Cororooke;” Mr George Robertson “Coragulac;” and Mr James Robert son, “Glen Alvie.” It was in November, 1885, that the first sub-division of a large estate was held, and this really marked the opening up of a new era for Colac. The Cororooke estate was the 'first to go. Since then Mr A. Murray’s Wool Wool estate was sub-divided, some of the other large properties sub-divided being—Mr. T. C. Murray’s “Warion” estate, Dr. Stoddart’s “Corunnum” estate, Mr John Haimes’ “Mamre” estate, Mr Thomas Austin’s “Yeo” estate, j.he Pirron Yalloak, Glen Alvie, and other properties. No wonder Colac expanded.

From a small hamlet on the east side of the Baron-garook Creek, it gradually spread westward. Each succeeding year saw further' expansion, until today it has a

New South Wales, Commercial Banking Co., of Sydney, also the Savings Bank.

The Shire Hall is situated at the eastern end of Murray Street, and here the representatives of the ratepayers battle out the question of the roads and seek to do the best possible with the revenue at their disposal. Improvements in this direction are making headway, so that, although much remains to be done, Colac is well served as far as the principal streets are concerned. And what is more, they are rendered attractive by the thoughtfulness of those who were responsible for the planting of trees in all the leading thoroughfares. The refreshing shade which these afford on a hOf. summer’s day is pleasing, and especially is this so along the market square frontage, where full advantage is taken of the seats.

The Post Office is situated next to the Shire Hall. Some years ago it was found that the building did not provide sufficient accommodation for the volume of business which had to be transacted, and large additions had to be made.    .....

illustrated history of the town and district.

*®®®3X?>®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®<s&®®^

Henderson Motors S

-COLAC.


DENNIS STREET-

Motor Repairs and all Motorist’s Necessities.

Spacious Garage and Modern Conveniences.

Phone, Colac, 185.


HENDERSON MOTORS Pty. Ltd.

0:0:0:0:0:010:0:0:0'


OTOTOTOTOTOIOIOO


©©©©©©©©©©Q®®®®®®®®®®®®®1


u


At the south-east corner of theMemorial Square is the Colac Free Library. It was erected as a Peace Memorial of the South African War, and, being well conducted, it receives a large measure of support.

At the north-east corner of the square is the Colac Central Bowling Club’s green, well-kept, capably managed, and with a strong membership. Right in the centre of the ^ square is the Colac Shire War Memorial, erected by the citizens in memory of those who gave their lives for the Empire.

Not yet being a borough, Colac has no Town Hall of its own, but is well catered for by a private company which owns the Victoria Hall, a commodious building ' right in the heart of the town, and also an up-o-date picture theatre.

Colac is well equipped as far as lighting is concern ed, for the Colac Gas Company is ever on the alert to give the consumers the best that can be obtained, whilst the State Electricity Commission co-ordinate in their endeavours to keep the town well illuminated.

town is well served as far as sport is concerned. There are various cricket, tennis, rowing, hockey, croquet, rifle and gun clubs; also two bowling greens and other sporting institutions.

To those who love flowers and shady trees, whose thoughts are often inclined to the beauties of Nature, and who see, even in the daisy of the field, the marvellous handiwork of the Creator of the Universe, the Colac Botanical Gardens, which embraces about 30 acres, is indeed a beauty spot. Right on the bank of the lake, the situation is truly an ideal one. The rose beds, the terraces, the conservatory, and the improvements to the foreshore, all speak of the interest taken in the gardens by the public, and of the really excellent work of the curator, Mr A. Campbell.

The Colac Lake is a large expanse of water, providing excellent facilities for rowing and yachting, whilst the abundance of fish which it holds, gives rattling good sport to the devotees of this pastime.

No description of Colac would be complete without


Whilst served with the things of, the world, the spiritual needs of the people are well provided for in quite an array of churches. Hesse Street is the “Church Street” of the town, for it has within close touch of each other St. John|s AChurch of England. St. ^Andrew’s Presbyterian, and the Baptist Church. In Gellibrand i Street St. Mary’s Roman Catholic Church occupies an imposing site near the bank of the lake, whilst close at hand are the Primary School and St. Joseph’s Convent, a fine structure to which has been added a Chapel. In the same street the members of the Church of Christ have „ their place of worship, and the Methodist section of the " community have within the last year or two built their beautiful church and' Sunday School at the corner of Grant and Dennis Streets. The Salvation Army too, from small beginnings, have now a very fine citadel in Coran-gamite Street, in which their adherents hold their regular meetings.

Passing from things spiritual to things temporal, the reference to the Colac Dairying Company. It Is, so to speak, one of the foundation stones upon' which the commercial prosperity of the town is built. It has been the salvation of the dairying industry in the district, and the success of the dairymen has spelt, prosperity to the business men, and has beneficially affected, directly or indirectly, every resident of the town.

In the matter of railway service, Colac is well catered for, there being three trains each day to and from the metropolis. It is also the junction station of five branch lines.

Colac is happily situated, being 98 miles from Melbourne, 70 miles from Ballarat, and 68 miles from Warr-nambool.

Whilst looking back on the wonderful progress which has been made in the past, its prospects are indeed bright Much as it has accomplished, it is yet on the borderland of the great successes which it is bound to

1 SUPPORT LOCAL ENTERPRISE 1



BY DRINKING LOCALLY MANUFACTURED

Manufacturers of the . . following Aerated Waters: —

Lime Juice & Soda* Auranto

American Straw-. .

berry Soda Ginger Beer Jusfrute (Lemon, Lime, Orange)


Also Manufacturers of the following cordials:

Raspberry Lime Juice Lemon Squash Cloves

Green Ginger Peppermint Hot Punch Sarsaparilla

First and Second Prizes, Royal Show, Melbourne, 1926-1927.

DRINK

OOROPH

The Great

Nerve Soothing Cordial


J


SPARKLING

Dry Ginger Ale

Arrificialiy colored and flavored Manufactured by

COLAC CORDIAL AND AERATED WATER CO.

G.HAY, Proprietor,

Tel. 35, Colac.    COLAC and CAMPERDOWN.

Factory—Manners-Sutton Street Colac.

achieve in the future. It is rich in all those things which go towards making a community a truly prosperous one.

The fertility of the soil is known throughout the Com monwealth. With its excellent climate and good rainfall, Nature yields forth her fruits abundantly. And once the people recognise more fully all that intense culture can. do, and with the establishment of manufacturing industries which is sure to come in the near future, be that day near or far, Colac will move ahead even more rapidly than it has done in the past and become in the course of time a great inland city.

Past Shire Presidents.

Hugh Murray, 1864-65; W. Ower and D. Thomas, 1865-66; J. McLaughlin, 1866-67-68; Hugh Murray and J. McLaughlin, 1868-69; A. Dennis, 1869-70-71; . C. Beal, 1871-72; R. Calvert, 1872-73; C. Buchanan, 1873-74 G. P. Robertson, 1874-75-76; C. Beal, 1876-77; M. Howe, 187778; E. Cooper, 3878-79; E. Coulston, 1879-80; W. Robertson, 1880-81; D. Thomas, 1881-82-83; C. L. Forrest, 1883, 84; C. Buchanan, 1884-85; T. Collins, junr., 1885-86; D. Thomas, 1886-87; W. Sherren, 1887-88; C. Buchanan, 1888-89; J. H. Connor, junr., 1889-90; W. H. Bullivant, 1S90-91; J. L. Kininmonth, 1891-92; E. M. Forbes, 189293; T. Collins, 1893-94; Mark Daffy, 18944-95; T. Baker, 1S95-96; W. Sherren and W. H. Bullivant, 1896-97; Frank Neylon, 1897-98; D. C. Dunoon, 1898-99; J. Hancock, 1899-00; Mark Daffy, 1900-01; D. C. Dunoon, 190102; J. Hancock, 1902-03; F. Neylon, 1903-04; J. Fulton, 1904-05; J. Hancock, 1905-06; D. C. Dunoon, 1906-07; J. Fulton, 1907-08; M. M'Lennan, 1908-09; J. M’Kenzie 1909-10; R. A. Ramsay, 1910-11; D. C. Dunoon, 1911-1213. 1914-15, C. W. Meredith; 1916, R. C. Daffy; 1917, C. H. Johnstone; 1918-19, J. Hancock; 1920, D. C.’ Dunoon; 1921, R. A. Ramsay; 1922-23, J. P. Morrissy; 1924-25, R. C. Daffy; 1926-27, E. N. Thomas.

The First Council.

; The first Council meeting was held on the 14th May, 1864, when there were present:—Hugh Murray (President), J. D. Bromfield, A. Dennis, J. H. Connor, M.L.A., W. Sherrin, E. Coulston, J. Chapman and T. Butcher. Wm. J. O’Dwyer and J. McLaughlin (members of the old Board) were re-elected in August, and took their seats on the 13th of that month.

At a special meeting of the Council in 1864, the Councillors were arranged according to their property qualifications:—Beeac, Crs. Connor, Ower, and McLaughlin; Corangamite:—Crs. Murray and Bromfield. Mr. Dennis being a member in excess for Beeac, and not liable to be rated for property in either of the other two ridings, he vacated his seat. Three new members were required for Weering and one for Corangamite. The election was held in February, 1865. For Corangamite, Daniel Thomas was returned, and for Weering, W. Mackinnon, M. Weston, and J. McMahon.

Mr J. V. Bartlett, the late Board’s surveyor, continued in office, with the added duty of secretary, and Mr J. Smith as assistant. Mr B. J. Miller, who had done nearly all the valuing for the Board, was also reengaged. In April, 1865, Mr F. C. Wilson was appointed secretary, but retired at the end of twelve months. Mr E. R. Gilbert then held the position for six years. On the 17th June, 1872, Mr P. C. Wilson was appointed out of 58 applicants, and he remained in office for over 40 years.

Upon his retirement Mr D. M. Dunoon was appointed to the position, which is still held by him.

It may not be out of place here to mention that previous to the holding of the first Council meeting, the business of the Shire was carried on by what was then termed a Roads Board.


GPersonal Service.

In such an intimate matter as that of the clothes you wear, which will make or mar your personal appearance, it is inadvisable to place yourself in the hands of unsympathetic strangers.

A Bespoke Tailor in your own locality will study your requirenents and make it his business to provide for them. He has a reputation to maintain, while his interests are bound up in securing that his customers are pleased and satisfied.

I have always realized the first importance of giving all-round satisfaction. No effort is spared to secure this, and we regard it as both a pleasure and a privilege to give a willing and unstinted personal service.

C. S. COWLEY,

TAILOR --

and Gentlemans Complete Outfitter.



Church of England.

Prior to 1S75 Colac was an adjunct of Birregurra. Rev. T. Sabine, Vicar of Birregurra, visited Colac once a month to conduct services. In 1875 the Diocese ot Ballarat was created, and Colac became a separate parish, with the Rev. James Wagg as Vicar. The first place of worship erected was a Sunday School, built of wood, and there the adherents of the Church of England gathered regularly for many years. Atjtefr thjis a neat little brick Church was built, which served the congregation until 1891, when on the 24th June of that year, the present. fine edifice was dedicated by Dr. Thornton, then Bishop of Ballarat. In 1901 a fine bell was hung in the tower. The old wooden building, which had served as town. To this end a piece of land at the corner of Grant and Skene Streets was secured, and the cost of the new church buildings, school, and kindergarten halls, two tennis courts were erected, at an approximate cost of £11,000. Tenders were called, and out of eight received, that of Messrs Serle and Wallis was accepted and building operations commenced in 1924. During these negotiations, the trustees of the church were greatly assisted bv the Rev. Courtenay Thomas, with Mr L. H. Leigh as secretary. During building operations, services were held in the Victoria Hall. The members of the Selwocd family donated a beautiful memorial window in memory of their parents. The new church was opened for public worship on Sunday, 30th June, 1926, by the President of the Conference, Rev. H. A. Overend, B.A., a splendid congrega-


Parish Hall and Sunday school for so many years was replaced by the present building in 1902. There have b^en many changes in the incumbency during these late years, and it is interesting to note that the first Vicar, Rev. J. Wagg, B.A., is still living. He is enjoying a well-deserved rest after his many years’ faithful service in the Chu' ch. Of recent years Rev. Godfrey H. Smith had charge of the parish, and und\er hits five .years' guidance, the Church and all connected with it moved ahead. The Itcv. Frank Lynch, M.A,, B.D., is the present Vicar.

Methodist Church.

The first Wesleyan Church was erected in Church Street, East Colac, in the year 1858, and served in its useful purpose in the spiritual welfare of the community for many years, Mr Hiskins being in charge of the circuit at this date. Colac extending west, and increasing in population, it was necessary to move to a more central position. In June, 1874, a site was secured in Murray Street, (where the Paramount Picture Theatre now stands), and this church was the meeting place of the Methodist section of Colac until 1924. In that year the old church, property was sold for the sum of £5,500, the intention of the trustees being to build a more commodious House of Worship in a more central position of this ever-growing tion being present. The Rev. V. R. Bradbury, M.C., has had charge of the Colac Circuit since the departure of Rev. Thomas, and the Sunday School is under the superintendency of Mr H. Warden.

Welcome Back To

U



Q

WE Cordially Invite you to come along and Inspect our Stocks of Art China, Art Chinese Brassware, Silverware, Electroplate, Crystal Ware, Sporting Goods, General Hardware., etc. etc.

For Everything in Hardware from

“An Needle to an Anchor.”

CASTLES BROS. Pty. Ltd,

■Hardware Experts.-

Phone 91.


Murray Street, COLAC.


St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church.

In the year 1847 the adherents of St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church decided to hold services, and to that end a site was secured at the homestead of Mr Hugh Murray, on the banks of Lake Colac—a barn being used for the purpose. The Rev. John Gow was the first minister and continued his ministrations until 1852. He was followed

shortly afterwards by the Rev P. McLaggan, who took charge in 1853, and it was during hi3 ministry that “Cow’s Chapel” as the early humble building was called, was burnt in a raging bush fire. The Rev. Hugh Blair followed, and it was during his ministry that a new church was opened in 1854, the site chosen being Colac East. Under the Rev. Blair, the congregations, Birregurra and Ondit (Beeac) grew so that it became necessary to erect churches at these places. It was in the year 1866 that the Rev. J. D. Dickie was inducted into the charge, and it was during his long ministry that the present fine buildings were erected, and to whose foresight the members are indebted today. The foundation stone was laid on April 10th, 1877, and the opening service was conducted by the Rev. Charles Strong on Sunday, 16th December. The total expenditure of the new church including site, fencing, laying-out, and planting of grounds, etc., amounted to £4,584 Amongst those who were instrumental in securing the erection of this church were Messrs John Calvert, James Robertson, Andrew Murray, and J. L. Kininmonth. In 1897 the Golden Jubilee was celebrated, the Rev. Professor J. R. Rentoul, officiating on Sunday, 13th June. The long ministry of the Rev. J. D. Dickie was brought to a close, and St. Andrew’s people manifested their interest towards him in a practical way, up to the time of his passing in 1910. Rev. John Donald McKenzie followed in 1899, and afterwards came Rev. John McKenzie in 1909, followed by the Rev. G. B. Murphy, B.A., in 1910. The new manse was erected in 1912, the cost being £1,564. On the 16th February, 1916, the Rev. Karl Forster, M.A., was inducted, and remained in charge for a period of six years, and on the 30th June, 1922, Rev. D. D. Munro, M.A., and is in charge of St. Andrew’s today. During all these years many earnest workers have been connected with the Church and to these early pioneers a debt of gratitude is felt by the present day adherents. The activities of the church are many, and embrace all branches of religious life that goes to uplift the spiritual and social life of the com

munity. Amongst the gentlemen who have held the position of superintending the S unday School are:—Messrs W. Matthew, W. McKinnon, C. Buchanan, J. Gibsou, Parkinson, J. G. McKay, G. Archer, J. Coleman, R. Inglis, and Mr Alex McKay, who is in charge at the present time.

Church of Christ.

The Church of Christ commenced its work in Colac in the year 1889. The foundation members were Mr and Mrs Sam Lee, and family, Mrs G. L. Underwood, Mrs M. T. Gray, Mrs Bowen and family, now in South Africa. The first Minister was Mr W. D. Little. Meetings were held in the Temperance Hall. Later the I.O.O.F. Hall was secured in which the Sunday services were conducted.

As a result ol a mission held by Evangelists J. Binney and H. G. Harwood, Pastor A. W. Connor, who is now President of the Conference of the Churches of Christ, was called to take charge of the work in Colac. Through his efforts, the present Chapel, in Gellibrand Street, was built, this being the first building erected under the Church of Christ Extension Committee.

After completing a most successful Ministry, Pastor Andrew' Connor received a call to one of the most, important Churches (Ballarat).

The Church w'as most fortunate in securing the services of Gilbert E. Chandler, who came here direct from U.S.A. Gilbert Chandler was a model orator. His patriotic speeches will ever remain in the memories of the Colac people. During his ministry in Colac people found it difficult to secure seating accommodation of a Sundajy evening. It was through Gilbert Chandler’s efforts that the Church secured the corner block, and put down two tennis courts, at a total cost of £500. After a wonderful ministry, extending over some years, he was persuaded to occupy the charge of the Geelong City Church.

During the past ten years many changes have taken place, and the Church has suffered much through the .removal of many families from the district. A special effort has been made during the past twelve months to free the building of debt. The result of this effort has reduced the debt to less than £100. At the present time the Church is marching on and is happy in its association with its present Minister, Pastor Jas. H. Bird.

Greetings from the Co/ac Treasure House.

E. Heibeit LEWIS,

Watchmaker, Jeweller and Optician, Murray Street, Colac. Next Victoria Hall.

Souvenirs Obtainable.

■tmttmrntntmjaitsi'nmttJtiiiinin


I ,}/r

\yW*» A


ffi'

.Hr:


M


ay


d


sn 23S =


WATCHES, CLOCKS, CHAINS, PENDANTS, JEWELLERY, &c.

ELECTROPLATE and BRUSHWARE.


Wedding and Presentation Goods

if VER-INLREA'1NGnumbers cf £2/ men are realising the extra convenience and safety that is obtained by wearing their watch Strapped to the wrtSl.

In erery-day business life or when working out of doors, a turn of the wnSl wiil always show you the correct . ime if y ou select your wa. ch here.

^Accuracy and S rv ce are the main springs of our husmtss, while nil our transactions are regulated by reas„nade <>» ices.


Engagement and Wedding Rings.


Cigarette Cases.


Serviette Rings. Brooches.


E. H. LEWIS

Established 1905,


THE JEWELLER Box 19 COLAC

Phone 152.

®®®®®®<5>®®<S>®<5Xgx»xsx5xSX«XS^®<sXSx5>®®®®®®®®<«>®®<S)®®®®<S>0

32

St. Mary's Church.

The first Roman Catholic Church service was held in Colac during the early forties, later Father Bleasby conducted services. The first church erected was in Chapel Street, near the main road. During the sixties Rev. Father Nelan was appointed in charge of the parish, the territory extended from Mount Moriac on which this fine church stands as a landmark till the present day) to Terang on the west, to near Ballarat on the north and to the Southern Ocean on the south. As the population grew, so Father Neian’s boundaries were restricted, but his work increased. For over half a century Dean Nelan labored continually in this district with faithful and loyal devotion in the interests of his church. We can look back on the marvellous strides that have been made by the church in this district. Dean Nelan died in 191G. after over half a century in earnest devotion to his church. A few years ago extensive additions were made to the Convent of Mercy, and a new school was erected in brick, also tennis courts, etc.

Rev Father Kennelly, who is now in charge of the Colac parish is supported by a body of loyal and devoted people. Father Kennelly, who is on his way back to Colac concluding a world tour, is to be extended a welcome on his return next month.

Baptist Church.

The Baptist Church was started in Colac in 1908. The Rev. A. A. Medley was the first minister. He wa3 highly esteemed for his work in Stawell and Echuca. The work was commenced in the only available hall, described as “a dingy, ill-kept uninviting place.” At the first service 17 adults were present; five of these lived 12 miles out. Twelve months later an appeal was made at the Annual Assembly and was generously responded to, which enabled the Home Missions’ Committee to purchase the present site and erect the building at present occupying the back end of the block leaving the corner for a brick church. The Goulter family originated the cause, and four of them have become missionaries, two in the Solomon Islands, one in New South Wales, to the aboriginies, and one is missionary of the Church of Christ in America. Along with this family were the families of Thornton and Williams. Mr and Mrs A. Williams are present members. The late Mrs C. H. Helmore was also among the first members, and a little later Mr C. H. Helmore, who has been the faithful secretary since almost the inception. The names of ministers who have been in charge are:—Revs. A. A. Medley, Frank Harris, Patten McCarthy, Watkin Smith, W. P. Cairns, S. Whitchurch, J. J. Weller and Pastor N. W. Irvin, and the


Salvation Army.

Opened fire in Marshall’s old store (now Dalgety’s), on 14th and 15th September, 1889. Captain Hammond and Lieutenant Terril were the first officers appointed Edith Abbot (now Mrs Barnett) first to become a Salvationist and afterwards an officer, the first to leave Colac for the training college. Six months after Mr and Mrs John Baker, senr., also joined. These comrades, who are still Salvationists, and Mr Baker holds the position of Sergt.-Major today. Eventually a shift was made into the skating rink, Queen Street, which was previously the site of Cobb and Co’s stables, where the Army remained until August 27th, 1924, when the building in Corangamite Street was opened, which comprises a mod ern hall and up-to-date officers’ quarters adjoining. Quite a large number of young men and women have been sent from the S. A., Colac, to the training college, and from thence to mission work in India and China and all parts of Australia as field and social officers. At present the corps has a nice silver band under the leadership of Bandmaster, Col. Baker, a product of the local boys, and a full staff of local officers under the leadership of Ensign and Mrs Tyler.    -

Rev. K. L. Melville, at present in charge. The church property has become very valuable, owing to it being so close to the main street and facing such a picturesque square as the Memorial Square. The day may come when a Baptist Church with a steeple may grace the corner and the present church become the school hall.

Colac Railway Stock Market.

Colac stands at the junction of five lines of railways coming from north, south, east and west, namely, from Ballarat and the Western Plains, from Melbourne and Geelong, from Warrnambool, Port Fairy and Hamilton, from Alvie and Cororooke, and from Beech Forest. It has developed into one of the greatest stock markets in any country place in Victoria. Gifted with land so lavishly endowed by nature, it is not to be marvelled at that Colac’s weekly stock sales are second only to that of the metropolis. The yardings on an ordinary day's market amount to 1,200 head of cattle and S000 sheep. At the fortnightly pig sales as many as 3000 pigs are penned, these being mostly baconers. Buyers are thus attracted to Colac stock sales from all parts of the State of Victoria, and frequently from adjoining States also.

COLAC MOTOR TYRF HOSPITAL

FOR

Retreads, Blow-Outs, Cuts, Punctures.


PERDRIAU AGENTS.

The Home for Tyre Service.

C. WILKINSON, Proprietor.


roToioioys


The High School.

In the annual report of the Colac P. and A. Society for 1908, the Secretary, Mr C. H. Jonnstone, drew attention to the urgency of the establishment of an Agricultural High School, and stated that it would be for “the benefit of the youth who will be the men of the future, and assist in endowing them with a scientific education in pastoral and agricultural pursuits.” This was backed up

ratepayers in the shape of roads. The officials having selected 20 acres of the “Lady Franklin” farm, the land was purchased by the Shire Council for £1750, and handed over to the Education Department, the Shire contributing £1500 towards the cost. The new school was opened on February 1st, 1913, by the Hon., the Premier, W. A. Watt. The number of scholars enrolled at the opening was 55. Today there are approximately 250 students. The present Headmaster is Mr A. V. G. James, B.A.


by Mr Tate, Director of Education, in a lecture, wiio spoke of the advantages to be gained by the establishment of a High School for Colac. The estimated cost of 70 acres of land with the necessary buildings was set down at £150o, and of this amount the residents were expected to And £750, besides a guarantee that a commencement would be made with not less than 50 pupils. The subject was brought under the notice of the Council in 1909, by a deputation from the P. and A.

Catholic Schools.

The Sisters of Mercy conduct two schools in the Roman Catholic Denomina‘ion. Scattered throughout the Shire are numerous State schools, the policy of the Government to extend the advantages of education to any district, however remote, upon application by the parents, with a minimum number of 13 pupils, being a great factor against illiteracy.




Society, who urgently advocated the claim of the school. The Council was sympathetic, and after a short postponement of the matter, a tangible scheme was brought forward in that an extra rate of Id in the £ was put on all rateable property, and by that means the sum of £2130 was raised. Out of that, £1500 was devoted to the school the balance of £630 being returned to the

State Schools.

The School Committees of the various Schools in the district are in the hands of energetic representatives, who deserve praise for their interest in the welfare of their particular School. Mr W. Carroll is the Headmaster at Colap East, and Mr. T. Skeyes has charge of Colac West.

p:o:ototo;o:o:oto:ototq

PARR and SPENCER,

MOTOR CAR-

and......

GENERAL ENGINEERS

Colac.


Murray Street


AGENTS FOR

Nash Cars    Citeron Cars

Prices from—    Prices from—

STANDARD SIX, £330    £275

SPECIAL SIX, £425

ADVANCED SIX, £545    TRUCKS from £275

Oils. Petrol, Tubes, Tyres and all Motor Accessories

StocKed.

Oxy Welding and Vulcanis- Closed Cars for Hire, Day ing done on the Premises.    or Night.

......CARS GARAGED........... EXPERT DRIVERS ...

Agents for-

AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE COMPANY

Continuous Motor Service.


Phone 88.


ILLUSTRATED history of the town and district.

Colac Ladies’ Benevolent Society.

The Society has a continuous history for over 40 years, and among the original founders were Mesdames Agnes Rae (President), Farrington, Dickie, Hancock and Miss McIntosh. With a small income varying front £70 to £100 per annum received from special collections and efforts made, the ladies found sufficient to meet the wants of the poor and needy of the town, and the main attention was given to the wants of women and children. In the year 1894 the Society was a beneficiary under the will of the late Captain Haimes, of Marnre, who left the residue of his estate to three Benevolent Societies, viz: — Melbourne, Geelong and Colac, but unfortunately after protracted legal proceedings, Colac’s share was reduced to half the original amount. This fine gift to the Soc-

Colac District Hospital.

Starting in quite a humble way, the Colac Hospital was opened on 1st May, 1882, and has been added to, stefi by step, until now it is one of the best country hospitals in the State, outside of the big cities. A handsome gift of 1000 guineas, made by Mr A. S. Chirnside, enabled the committee to erect a new men’s ward, which is equal to anything in the State as far as modern ideas are concerned. The institution is doing a grand work for the sick poor, and is most capably managed by a committee, whose President is Mr J. G. Johnstone.

The hospital is a commodious and up-to-date brick structure, serving a wide and populous district. It has a daily average of 40 in-patients. The Colac Shire Council and the Sf.ate Government, each contributed half the cost; erected as an adjunct to the general Hospital, is an Infectious Diseases Hospital at a cost of £8000.


iety has been husbanded, and with careful management has increased its capital so that the interest therefrom now averages £500 per annum, and constitutes the whole of its revenues. The Society is not registered under the Charities Act of Victoria and is debarred therefore from receiving any outside subscriptions to its funds. The time is approaching with the growth of the town when this position will have to be reviewed, and the question of being registered, will have to be considered. At present the revenue is just sufficient to meet expenditure, and when the necessity arises that the capital funds have to be drawn upon, the position will become serious. The public generally are not aware of the good work being accomplished on behalf of the deserving poor by the capable committee of ladies under the presidency of Mrs D. D. Munro.

Ambulance.

The matter of providing a motor ambulance for Colac and district was taken up by the Colac Progress Association in 1923, and after due consideration, an appeal to the public for funds to enable the Association to arrange for the purchase of an ambulance was launched. The response to the appeal was prompt and satisfactory, and in due course a fully equipped and up-to-date motor ambulance was purchased and placed at the disposal of the public. The management of the ambulance and service was placed in the hands of the trustees, namely: — Messrs J. G. Johnstone, L. Castles, T. McAdam, T. S. Morrison, and H. L. Parslow. During the past four years of operation the ambulance has been engaged on over 400 occasions, a fact which fully justifies the Progress Association’s offices, in connection with this public service has proved so valuable.

ILLUSTRATED history op the town and district.    t


The Central Cash Butchery,


*


,531


At Inglis* Arcade, Murray Street, Colac.


YOU ARE INVITED TO GIVE US A TRIAL ORDER. Our Meat is bought well, the Quality is the Primest, it is retailed under Cleanly and Hygenic conditions, and the PRICES

ARE RIGHT, too.


E. MUIR & CO,


Cash Butchers, Colac.


Chas. Kemp G. F. Potter


(Late KirK and Kemp)

General BlacKsmith,

Bromfield Street, -- Colac.


Pianoforte and Organ Tuner and Repairer,


(Late of Sutton’s, Melbourne).


General Blacksmithing of all descriptions executed by First-Class Workmanship.

Selected Tuner to Government House, Western Australia.

Shoeing a Speciality.


Address—BEEAC.


Or care of J. C. Roach, Colac.


Empire Day Committee.

During the Great War, the Colac Empire Day committee accomplished wonderful service in organising their Annual Empire Day Celebrations, and were crowned with success. Over a period of five years the amount of ■£9311/14/4 was received and distributed as follows: —

1915—Servian Relief Fund, £325;    191G—French Red stone of the rooms was laid on the 24th April, 1926, by the Hon. Lyttleton E. Groom, M.H.R., and were completed and furnished at a cost of £4,500. The opening ceremony was performed by His Excellency the Governor-General, Lord Forster, on 14th May, 1921. The building situated in Hesse Street, just off Murray Street, occupying a frontage of 200 feet, consists of a large lounge or meeting room, suitable for dances or social gather-


Cross Ambulance Fund, £1350; 1917—British Red Cross Appeal, £2635/0/9; 1918— British Red Cross Appeal, £3731/13/7; 1919—Shire War Memorial, £1270.

Whilst the Shire War Memorial Committee were fur thering their plans to build the Memorial Shrine, a separate committee of ladies and gentlemen concentrated their efforts on building rooms for the use of the returned soldiers, their wives and mothers. The foundation ings if not on too large a scale; a billiard room, in which there are two very fine tables and the customary billiard room furniture; two rooms are furnished and set apart for soldiers’ wives and mothers, and are a boon to country soldiers’ wives when they come in to Colac. There is an up-to-date kitchen and pjantry, equipped with gas stoves and a hot water service; secretary’s office; bath room, hot and cold showers ;and sewered lavatories.

,SXS>®®®<S6>®®CJXS>®®®®®<!XIXS>^^

(SI


L. F.


Family Butcher.

Orders Called For and Delivered

The Prirnest of Meat at Reasonable Prices.


I



Apart from the main building we have stall accommodation for 30 horses under cover, and a very large roofed-in building for vehicles. A committee of management, elected annually, consisting of soldiers and fathers of soldiers, are responsible for the conduct of the institution, and under their control they have a paid secretary and an assistant. The privilege of using the rooms is open to every soldier who fought in the Great War, and membership is confined to soldiers, wives and mothers, and fathers of soldiers. Associate members if approved by the managing body are also enrolled, but they have no voting power or say in the management. It is pleasing to be able to say that the usefulness of the rooms to the returned men has fulfilled the expectations of the promoters, and with the assistance of a fine ladies’ committee the managing body have been enabled to make them of very great service to district returned soldiers and their women-folk. On sale days especially, when lunches are. prepared and served by the ladies’ committee, the rooms, and the splendid stabling and shed accommodation for the soldiers’ horses and vehicles are a scene of bustling activity.

marble tablets, the names of 1,600 men, who at their country’s call bravely responded.

Memorial Rooms also costing £4500, which the public subscribed, were erected for the use of returned men and are largely availed of, especially by the soldier settlers and their wives.

The first medicos to take up residence in Colac was Dr. Walsh, who was succeeded by Dr. Nankervil. At his death Dr. Rae commenced practice in Itae Street, near the Barongarook Creek. At this period of the late fifties the residential area of the town was between Church Street and the Barongarook. Dr. Rae and Mrs Rae took more than a passing interest in the welfare of the town and were associated with the principal public movements. Although several members of the family are resident in other parts of the Sta,te. Mrs W. G. Sewell, of Queen’s Avenue, is a daughter. Medical officers who came to Colac at later periods were Dr. Porter and Dr. Foster; the latter was succeeded by Dr. W. H. Brown, who for many years was medical officer at the


Soldier Settlement.

An area of 21.6S1 acres has been purchased in the Shire by the Closer Settlement Board for the repatriation of returned soldiers at a cost of £523,220, providing farms for 200 men.

It is gratifying to know that the majority of them are succeeding, and had the areas allotted to them in the first place been about a third larger, there would have been very few failures.

The Colac district is proud of the record of war service by its eligible men. As a testimony of grateful appreciation a Memorial Shrine costing £4,500 has been erected by public subscription in a commanding position in the principal square of the town, and contains, inscribed on

Colac District Hospital and medical officer of the Shire of Colac. After the war Dr. Brown retired, and with Mrs Brown resided at Sorrento until his death about two years ago. Dr. A. E. Brown( who saw lengthy war service, succeeded to his father’s practice. Dr. J. G. Wynne erected a fine residence in Corangamite Street, and was held in high esteem; he took a promient part in public movements for the advancement of the town. His son, Dr. Gillies Wynne, saw active service, and is practising his profession as a medical specialist in diseases pertaining to the eyes, ears and throat. Dr. F. L. Nance, and Dr. D. Nance, Dr. K. H. Doig, Dr. A. E. Murray, and Dr. A. E. Lyster, saw war service in the Great War, and with one exception, are honorary medical officers to the Colac District Hospital.

41

illustrated History op the town and district.

«®®®®®®(SXSXsXl>®®<*X*>®<sXS>®®<^^


OTOTOTOXXQ


Victoria Motor Garage

H. N. MATTHEWS, Proprietor.


1


Telephones:


Garage Colac 203. Residence Colac 102.


CONTINUOUS


HOOKS

SERVICE


Plume and Voco Petrols, Mobiloils and Greases.

Tyres, Tubes, Accessories.

Garag'ing'Special Rates for Weekly or Periodical Garag'ing'.

Repairs:-Prompt and Guaranteed.


161 MURRAY STREET, COLAC. - - “,»E“


Dairying Industry.

“The old order changeth, yielding place to new,” is written large across the map of the Colac Shire. The beginning of the end to the large holdings round Colac may be said to have commenced when Messrs Robertson Bros, decided, in 1879 to discontinue their annual sales of pure bred cattle, owing to a falling off in prices. Then in 1880-81 the firm disposed of the first portion of their rich inheritance of 27,000 acres, Messrs W. Read and A. Lang being the purchasers. It must be said to the credit of the large landholders that they expended vast sums on the improvement of their estates. Some years ago it

from the two stations named amounted to &6,386 tohs. These facts, which are found recorded in a handbook, published by Mr T. Baker, are given to show the beneficial results arising from the new order of things that had set in. And it is just here where the Shire Council came in as an interested party in the small holding movement. Every large estate has a number of surveyed road3 running through it, and every succeeding year has added to the mileage of roads the Council has been called upon to place in a passable condition for vehicular traffic. This was clearly made apparent when the Eurack estate of 5000 acres was purchased and subdivided into 47 allotments, by the Closer Settlement Board in 1901. From


was stated by the late Mr James Robertson, that the value of the improvements on their Colac property, whilst still intact, amounted to £125,000. Now, if a valuation were made of this same area today, what a mighty contrast there would be, and all in favor of human beings as against cattle in the “good old days,” even if those pure-bred shorthorns did bring 3,000 guineas in the open market. The sale of the Cororooke estate in 1885 was one of the most important events in the history of the district, that is, if we consider the collateral results that sprang from it. Although some portions of this land went 1902 to 1907, the Council expended £3037 upon the roads of which amount the State provided £1350, and the Shire the other £1687. And even then there were still seven and a half miles of roads that wanted work done on them. The introduction of the Butter Factory and spread of creameries all over the Shire has also helped to accentuate the difficulty the Councillors have had in meeting even a reasonable amount of the constant demands on the Shire funds. The establishment of the Colac Dairying Company marks another important epoch in the history of the district, and the rise and progress of our com-


up as high as £40 an acre, the success of the potato growers was so great, that as each succeeding estate was put up for sale, the prices kept continually on the rise, At some of these sales as much as £40, £50, £60 and £90 have been given for this wonderfully land. The prolific yields of root crops from this land may be gauged by the fact that the produce from 400 acres of potatoes grown on the Cororooke estate increased the traffic at the Colac Railway Station from 2706 tons in 1886, to 5559 tons in 1887. Later on there were 1800 acres put under potatoes, with the result that the traffic from the Colac and Larpent stations rose to 10,808 tons in 1888.    In one

month of that year 2157 tons were sent away. In the three years from 1886 to 1889, the outward goods traffic mercial life has been commensurate with the increasing development and growth of this great industry.

The initial meeting for the formation of a company was held in Colac on the 24th July, 1891, Mr A. S. Murray (son of the pioneer) in the chair. Provisional directors were appointed and other necessary arrangements made for the flotation of the company. The proposal failed to catch on, and nothing practical was done till March 7, 1892, when a meeting was held at the Victoria Hotel, presided over by Dr. Wynne, when it was decided the Colac Dairying Company should be formed. The following were elected directors:—Messrs A. S. Murray, C. R. Tulloh, T. Hall, G. H. Hills and A. S. Murray. Some time afterwards Mr Murray retired, and Dr. Wynne 43

rLLtTSTRATED HISTORY OR THE TOWN ANt) DISTRICT.

LET THIS BE OF INTEREST TO YOU!


Protect your Stock and Beautify your Home. We can supply you with the necessary Hedge Plants, Shelter Plants, Shrubs, Seedlings, Seeds etc. etc.

Our Plants are grown at our own Nurseries, and are Strong, Clean and Healthy

WE ARE HOLDERS OF GOVERNMENT CERTIFICATE.


For Your Garden


We have Seedlings now “Ready” in great variety. All Hardy and well Grown

Postal Orders Promptly attended to

Satisfaction Guaranteed


All Seeds Reliable.


Floral Work


ASK OUR ADVICE.


<•>

(•)

§


(•)


We make up and dispatch promptly, Wedding Bouquets, Floral Emblems, Cut Flowers Porcelain Wreaths, Domes and Everlasting Wreaths always ready.


Phone 24.



Day or Night.

vWARRINER’S

Nurserymen, Seedsmen and Art Florists Fulham Nurseries, and - 108 Murray Street.


was elected in his stead. Mr C. R. Tulloh was appointed chairman, and Mr J. G. Johnstone, secretary. The directors experienced great difficulty in getting things into working order, but eventually they succeeded.

The factory was erected in Wilson Street, and close to the Railway Station. The opening proceedings were held on the 30th December, 1892, and took the form of a banquet, which was presided over by Mr Tulloh, Chairman ot Directors. Congratulatory speeches were made by the Hon. J. H. Connor and other prominent men. During the first half-year creameries were opened at Ondit, Cor-orooke, Corunnun and Warrion. The amount expended on the erection of factories and creameries was £2,363/ 17/4. The sum of £2,149/11/8 had been paid for milk. The turnover for the year 1893 was £17,401/6/10. For the year ending December, 1913, the turnover was £262, 708/6/11, showing an increase of £245,307/0/1 in the 2o years. A large and up-to-date butter factory was opened up at Cororooke on the 26th September, 1901, by Mr Morrissy, Minister of Agriculture, to meet the growing requirements of the suppliers in that part of the district. The company is at the present time in possession of a butter factory at Colac and Cororooke, and nine creameries in the different centres around the district. The following returns supplied by the Secretary, will show the immense amount of money the company has been putting into circulation throughout the Shire since it was established in 1892: —

Return showing amount paid to shareholders for milk and cream, bonuses and dividends from 1893 to 1927 inclusive:—

Milk purchased ............... £3,023,562    16    11

Cream purchased ............... 3,028,633    17    8

Bonuses ..................... ’l20|719    14    1

Dividends..................... 20,976    3    3

Total paid to ^Shareholders ...... £6,352,995 12 3

Total turnover from 1893 to 1927    ..    £8,000,701 17 11

In addition to the above £7,107/5/9 has been paid out for eggs.

The company also manufactures from the skim milk Casein, and from the whey, milk sugar is the result. The Colac Dairying Company is the only company that manufactures Milk Sugar in the Commonwealth.

The number of dairy cows from which supplies are drawn, is about 28,000 to 30,0000 and of registered dairies there are 1,100.

In the volcanic area the milking season starts in the early Autumn, and the cows are milked through the winter, grazed in the open paddocks on pasture, never housed and rarely rugged. Probably in no other country in the world can this be done.

After serving its purpose for many years, during which the milk and cream handled here had been increased by leaps and bounds, and the working area becoming not only congested, but dangerous, the directors in 1927, decided to build a new factory. The length of the new building is 135ft. 4in.; the factory proper being 96ft. 4in. x 68ft. 10in„ divided by a brick wall from the boiler room, which is 39ft. x27ft. The cost of the structure was £8,500, and the contractors were Messrs John Me Gregor and Sons, Colac. The architects were Messrs Oakly and Parkes, Melbourne. The layout of the factory was designed by the general manager, Mr W. L. Watson, while Mr J. J. Rolfe manager of the Cororooke factory, acted as clerk of works, being assisted by Mr L. Bentley.

Better Farming League.

The committee of the P. and A. Society inaugurated the movement for the establishment of branches of the Better Farming League throughout the district in September, 1926, with the result that eight branches have been established with a central provincial council comprised of two representatives from each branch. The branches formed were at Ondit, Yeo, Barongarook, Dree-ite, Warrion, Nalangil, Irrewillipe East, and Olangoloah East, and it is noticed that a branch has been formed at Beech Forest, which yet has not come under the auspices of the Provincial Council. Herd testing, sugar beet culture and its manufacture, as a matter of fact there is no limit to the subjects that can be named full of interest to the man on the land. The Provincial Council has justified its creation by the formation of a Boy and Girl Calf Club. 12 pure-bred heifer calves of the Illawarra and Ayrshires breeds were obtained and distributed, and the presentation of same was made to the chosen applicants by His Excellency, Lord Somers, at the annual show held in November. Since then thjfe progress reports have been very satisfactory. It is hoped that a larger distribution of calves will take place this year providing the youth of the district respond, many of whom will be the farmers of the future. Mr R. J. Ball, President of the Council, and other members of the P. and A. Society, are enthusiastic workers in the cause. Some of the branches have had a very successful year, and as this depends entirely on the activities of the members in search of information and the propers of their particular centre, regular lectures have been given on quite a variety of subjects which has been interesting and educat-

ional to everyone that attends. Social evenings have been held in connection with several branches, which have been a decided success in bringing the people together, amongst the many subjects dealt with have been such items as dairying, scientific feeding of animals, potato culture, poultry farming, pig raising, marketing, breeding and care of sheep.

Friendly Societies.

Colac is well catered for in the way of Friendly Societies, there being branches of the M.U.I.O.O.F. and the I.O.O.F., Australian Natives’ Association, Hibernian Society, Druids, Sons and Daughters of Temperance,

ILLUSTRATED HISTORY OF THE TOWN AND DISTRICT.    '

* . .* • - ■ •

THE WESTERN GARAGE


Authorised Service Dealers.


35 MANNERS-SUTTON STREET, COLAC.

Searle 6k Wallace,

Motor and General Engineers.

Agents for—

BUICK and Oldsmobile Cars All Work Entrusted Guaranteed

SI    ...

All Accessories, Oil and Benzine Stocked.

Batteries Charged.    Spare Batteries

D for Hire.    Turning and Fitting.

Oxy-Acetylene Welding

Agents For G.M.C. TRUCKS

IS)


ANYTHING you require for your Building Operations is available here. Large Stocks of Timbers Always on Hand. -    .

SEE U3 FOR YOUR HARDWARE and PAINT REQUIREMENTS.

JOINER’S WORK EXECUTED BY A HIGHLY SKILLED STAFF OF WORKMEN

Searle & Wallace,

Building Contractors. Phone 150.


Hardware and Timber Merchants. 39-43 Manners-Sutton Street.

Pastoral and Agricultural Society.

The Society was founded on the 2nd August, 1S59, and has celebrated its 68th birthday, and is amongst the first of the country societies established in the Slate, and claims to have done its part in establishing the pastoral and agricultural interests of the district on the sound basis it occupies today.

The first show of the Society was held on a piece of land on the east side of Barongarook Creek, which today separates the eastern section from the main, or more populous part of the town of Colac. The Society was then granted the permissive occupancy of a site of five acres, which is now the main business centre of the town. The growth of the town necessitated its removal therefrom, to a site of the same area in the immediate rear. This in turn had to be vacated a few years later for the same reason, to a site adjoining the railway station comprising 14 acres, and which the Society was in occupation of since 1884 to January 1927, on which date

the grounds and improvements will not be less than £10, 500. This is no modest undertaking for a country Agricultural Society.

The whole area has been securely fenced, on Murray Street, by a hoarding 10ft high, the length of which is 29i chains, and the balance by a 6ft galvanised iron fence. The hoarding has been designed for advertising outside, on which the Society, with only a bare beginning made, is now in receipt of an income of £200 per annum from this source, and this can be considerably added to when its value becomes more widely known. The inside of the fence is all roofed in for penning of exhibits, and is divided into sections for cattle, horses, and ponies. It can be said that every exhibit will be under cover.

The Society’s most successful show was held in the Jubilee year, 1909, which was also the Grand National Show for the State of that year. The members totalled 399. Entries, 1915—Special donations received towards prize funds, £273; total receipts, £18?8. ^Expenditure in


commenced the removal of the extensive improvements, that had accumulated during these 43 years, it being generally acknowledged to be one of the most compact and complete grounds of any country society.

About two years ago it became known that the Rail-wav Department had eyes on the ground for railway extensions, and eventually the society was duly notified of these' facts. After nearly a year’s negotiations arrangements were made whereby the societly was to receive compensation for their improvements, based on their cost, less their break-up value, and which was assessed at £3690.. The Society commenced the removal of their improvements on 6th January, 1927, but before doing so had purchased a site of 20J acres, practically on a site which formed the first beginning of the town of Colac, somewhere in the forties. The site was purchased for the sum of £3360; the transfer only of the main buildings costing £690, and since then the sum of over £4000 has been spent in additional improvements, so when everything is complete for the opening day the value of prizes, £593; ground improvements. £671. Profit for year, £387.

The Show; held on November 22nd, 23rd, 1927 was, also a record.

The President (Mr R. J. Ball) and the Secretary (Mr C. H. Johnstone) have for a great number of years been untiring in their efforts to bring this Society to the foremost position amongst Agricultural Societies. On the shoulders of the Secretary fell the responsibility for the present splendid buildings and spacious sports arena, after which he resigned the secretarial duties.

Gas Company.

The Colac Gas Company Limited, was established 40 years ago. It has a paid up capital of £10,000 and its assets amount to ’£22,525. jThe annual output is twelve million cubic feet, with the consumption steadily increasing. Ready sale is found for all residuals produced. It is managed by an enterprising directorate.

Alf. Peters Pty. Ltd.,

Licensed M.M.B.W. and Colac Water and Sewerage Trust.

Sewerage and General Plumbers.


In Our General Plumbing We also Guarantee Satisfaction

All Sizes TanKs in StocK. Also Troughs, MilK Vats and Cans,

and all Dairy Utensils.

Windmills Supplied and Erected at Shortest Notice, Also Repairs of Any Description

A Quote With Pleasure*

Bromfield Street, COLAG.

COROROOKE. 11.


AIF. PETERS Pty. Ltd.

Phones—COLAC 340.

®®®®®®$®<S>®(J>S>SKsXiX^®(j)SXiX&5XsX£<5)®$<l>®<S®,5Xi)®(^®®'$<!>5' ®©®®®<sX!5<5Xs>®<sXsX5XS^^

Colac Water Supply.

It seems hardly credible that it should have taken 35 years to provide the town with an abundant water suppiy of pure water such as the residents now possess. The first move was made in 1876 when the Railway Department were constructing the reservoir for supplying water to the Colac station. It was calculated that this could be done by increasing the size of the main from 3in to 4 in, at an estimated outlay of £700. A committee was formed and a deputation appointed to lay the proposal before the Council, but Mr Hancock was the only one to put in an appearance. The Council did not consider the scheme a feasible one, and it was resolved “that the Council do not think it necessary to construct water works at present.” President Beal remarked “that as Colac would soon be a borough, they should be careful about going into these works." In 18S6 a Ratepayers’ League was formed with “Water Supply’ as one of its main planks. The question came before the Council again in 1888, and on the suggestion of Cr. Connor, the Engineer, Mr D. F. Cole, was instructed to report on all likely water reserves in the Shire, special reference being made to the Gellibrand River, which was strongly supported by Cr. Thomas. Mr Cole reported at the next meeting that the only feasible schemes proposed the only one that got as far as the

formation of a trust was “Cole’s Barongarook Scheme,’ as it was called, but the Council turned it down as being too expensive, and not satisfactory as regards the water. In 1504 the Council had instructed their Engineer, Mr C. H. Neylon, to bring up a report on all the various sources of supply, and expressed the opinion that the Gellibrand was the most reliable place to get an abundant supply. Eventually Mr Neylon, with the assistance of Mr Surveyor Cornthwaite succeeded, where Mr Cole had failed, in securing a suitable catchment area on the Olangolah branch of the Gellibrand River, and a good gravitation line from thence to Colac. The Council engaged the services of Mr T. W. Fowler to elaborate this proposed scheme, and prepare the necessary plans, estimates, etc., so that the whole of the details might be placed before the Minister of Water Supply. An influential committee was appointed by a public meeting to act with the Colac riding members, to bring the business to a successful issue. The Council took the necessary steps to prevent any encroachment on the catchment area, and also ordered a poll of the ratepayers to be taken. By 385 to 191 the ratepayers declared in favor of the scheme being proceeded with. The Government placed £44,600 in the Loan B'll—the estimated cost of the undertaking—and in


scheme was the utilisation of the upper reaches of the Barongarook Creek, which would not entail any great cost. This scheme with certain modifications, was eventually carried through as far as the formation of a Trust. As there was no certainty with regard to a permanent sup ply, and the quality of the water doubtful, together with the large estimated cost of £13,500 and a 2/ water rate, the whole thing fell through.

It seemed to be an understood thing that a gravitation scheme was the only one adapted to the conditions of the town, and as it was known that the Gellibrand River was much below the level of Colac, it was taken for granted that a costly pumping station would be required if the river waters were made use of. It was here that Mr Cole missed his opportunity of acquiring fame as a discoverer of a gravitation line from the Gellibrand River. In the meantime a new element had arisen to push things along. The Progress Association, which was formed in 3 9C2, with Mr E. M. Forbes as President, and Mr J. A C. Firth as Secretary, took up the work most energetically, and greatly assisted the Council. Out of many

September, 1909, the Minister appointed the threo Colac riding members—Crs. Dunoon, Tulloh and Fulton ana Messrs C. H. Johnstone, Walter Selwood, and L. Quinton as members of the first Trust. The Trust was legally constituted on the 11th November, 1909, and at their first meeting Cr. Tulloh was elected chairman. On the 12th October, 1910, the first Trust election by ratepayers took place, resulting in the return of Messrs C. R. Tulloh, F. Parkes, C. H. Johnstone, V. M. Pearson, J. W. Hosking, M. R. Brown, and Walter Selwood. The ceremony of opening the Colac Wate« works was performed by Mr Graham, Minister of Water Supply ,on the 28th July, 1911.

The total cost to 31st December, 1027 amounted to £67,247/14/4. The annual revenue from ordinary rates and meter charges totalled £5000 per annum. The storage capacity of the head weir is 14,000.000 gallons, and that of the reservoir at Elliminyt, 26,000.000 gallons. The catchment area, irrespective of the Agricultural College. Reserve, is 521a 3r lpr. The length of main pipe from head weir to reservoir is 19 miles, and the length of main pipe from there to Colac 2£ miles.

Sstablished 1909.

3*ho tie 21 Jllvie.

ALVIE CHEESE AND BUTTER FACTORY

Look for this Brand.


jlnnucil turnover £S0,000.

This Brand of Butter is on Sale at all leading Stores. Butter, Cheese and Cream forwarded to Melb. daily. Highest Prices given for Cream.

WALLACE


& 1NGLIS,

Proprietors.

A Sewerage Scheme has recently been Initiated by the Colac Sewerage Authority at an estimated cost of £52,162. The sewers have been laid throughout the major portion of the town, and a start made of connecting tenements to the sewers. Over 100 houses have been connected up to date.

The gentlemen who are at the helm of the Waterworks Trust, and also comprise the Colac Sewerage Authority are:—Messrs Chas. Stewart (chairman), J. S Brown, Geo. C. Gray, Geo. Hay, J. G. Johnstone, Alex McKay and J. P. McLeod.

line to Ballarat, the first railway league being formed 111 Colac in 1882. This 8J miles from Ondit Road station to Beeac was opened by the Hon. Alfred Deacon on 1st August, 1889. The line from Birreguira to Forrest was opened with little or no ceremony on June 5th, 1891. The narrow gauge line from Colac to Beech Forest, after a manly and persistent struggle, was opened for traffic on February 26th, 1902, by the State Governor, Sir Sydenham Clarke. This line was extended to Laver’s Hill some few years later. The crowning touch was put upon our thirty years’ agitation, when the break between Beeac and


Railway Construction Work

About forty years ago the Council were engaged in making some effort to open up the “Southern Wonderland” lying between Colac and the sea coast, and mention deserves to be made of the fine exploratory work done by Mr J. V. Bartlett shire engineer, also by his successor, Mr J. Sinclair. Then the question of constructing tramways into the forest in the direction of Mt. Sabine arose. The building of the line from Geelong, westward through Colac, attracted considerable local interest, and a strong committee was formed in 1870, to assist the other railway leagues. After a bitter struggle, lasting over seven years, this line was made, and the section as far as Birregurra was opened on March 13th, 1876, by the Hon. Joseph Jones. The last section to Colac was opened by His Excellency Sir George Bowen. The Council had a lot to do with the great celebration that took place, and voted President Beal £250 as an allowance for ex penses. The Council, however, withdrew the vote when they found it was illegal. In this they were more honest than some of their confreres in other parts of the country.

Of the other lines built for development purposes, it may be said that the work was carried on by a triple alliance—Shire Councillors, railway leagues and the Parliamentary members for the time being. There was another seven years’ struggle to get the first section of the

Newton was filled up. The opening ceremony was performed at Cressy, by the Hon A. A. Bilson, on September 20th, 1911.

Showing the large amount of business which is transacted at the Colic Railway Station, the following figures are very enlightening:—The number of passenger tickets sold at the local booking office for the four months ending December 31st., 1927, was 12,851; the goods tonnage handled was 21,792 tons; and livestock, 4,772 tons, making a total of 26,56-1 tons, and this is exclusive of the loading transferred from the narrow gauge line to and from Beech Forest, Forest, and Crowes. The total revenue received at Colac fir September, October, November, and December was £22,895. The staff of the station consists of 30 employees in the Traffic branch, 21 in the Ways and Works, and 35 in the Loco branches, as well as about 9 men working at the transfer yard. Thus between 90 and 100 men are permanently employed, all of whom reside in the town. The w'ages and salaries paid out to them every fourteen days is close on £1100, or about £28,000 per annum. Colac is the junction station for the Beech Forest—Crowes line, the Alvie—Cororooke, the Forrest— Birregurra and the Cressy—Beeac lines. There are 12 engine crews stationed at Colac, and when the proposed improvements are carried out on the old show ground. Colac will be the depot and repairing centre for the Western District Railway System,

T. W. Shallow

Funeral Director,

Colac.

Phene 51.


Established over 60 years.

®®®®®<^.:<i}<sxjx?)®®®®®®®®®®®<sxs>®®©^

WILL. C. SYDENHAM,

Mercer and Clothier.

MEN ! We can supply all your wants in MERCERY and CLOTHING at Special Prices during the month of February,

Men’s Hats, Men’s Suits, Men's Shirts, Men’s Singlets and Pants,

Men’s Socks, Men’s Braces, Men’s Trousers,

All at Special Prices.

WILL. C. SYDENHAM,

Mercer and Clothier, 110 Murray St., Colac.

Phone 146.

0:0:0:0:0:0:070


f5X5>®®<sXS>®®®®><S)<sXSx5>C*>®®(5>®<£>®®®(S>®®®®®®<S>«X£<s3


tourists’ jMap

Colac and Otway pistricts.


H. R. WHITELA W ,

Mlotor Engineer,


AGENT FOR

A.J.S. and

Velocette

Motor Cycles,

Lister Oil Engines and Royal Medal MilKing Machines.


All Repairs Done, and all Accessories Kept in stocK. Our Services second to none,

Colac.


Manners-Sutton Street,

BOOTS-and - SHOES

For Every Occasion.

We have in stock a very exclusive range of BOOTS and SHOES in every variety of style to suit the most particular.    .    - -

We Invite Your Inspection.

ERNEST LEE,

MURRAY STREET, - - - - COLAC.

Look Your Best

and--

Feel Your Best

CA New Smartly Shaped and J » Comfortable Suit, I can make from our Extensive Range of English and Australian Manufactured Materials.

I have English and Australian Experience in Cutting and Fitting, and SATISFACTION GUARANTEED

ANDREW BAXTER

Successor Belyea and Dunoon.

Opposite J. G. Iohnstone & Co. Pty. Ltd.


Colac Fire Brigade.

The prominent position which the Colac Fire Brigade occupies among the numerous useful and beneliclent institutions of Colac, and the high estimation in which it is held by the residents of the town and district—whose interests it serves so excellently, without fee or reward— is evidenced by the support that it receives from the public. The progress that has been made by this voluntary band of fire-lighters has been largely due to the foresight of tile earliest members, and all along the line has contained within its ranks a body of highly-trained and disciplined men, capable of, and ready to do the splendid work they nave set themselves apart to carry through work that lias been commended and approved on ail sides. The first meeting of the Brigaue was held on

the lG'.'n June, 1887, in J. G. Johnstone's auction room, and there was an attendance of about 40 members, and amongst those present were the following:—Messrs H. Wilson, F. Parkes, A. J. Sitlington, Alex Cant, J. H. Spark, W. James, J. Higgins, J. Woods, J. A. .Thompson, J. McDonald, R. E. Plimpton, R. H. Carling-ton, J. Murray, J. Bailiff, and Fallon. At this meeting the following officers were appointed: —President, Mr H. M. Hearn; Captain, Mr J. H. Spark; Lieutenant, Mr V. M. Pearson; Hose and Apparatus Officer, Mr J. A. Thomp son; Engine Officer, Mr F. Parkes; Secretary, Mr S. J. Hewitt; Treasurer, Mr J. G. Johnstone. The members of Die Fire Brigade waited on the Council for financial ^assistance, and they agreed to give a grant of £50. A few months later with the consent of the Board of Lands and Works, the Brigade was given permissive occupancy

of a site in the Market Square (now Memorial Square), upon which to erect a fire station and bell tower. Mr Frank Parkes, after the retirement of the first secretary, was appointed to the position, which he held for 6i years. The second anniversary was cerebrated on 25th July, 1SS9, by a torchlight procession. The end of voluu-

•tary support by the public was ended in 1890-91, for the Fire Brigades’ Act came into force in the latter part of 1891. By that Act all the country Fire Brigades were placed under the control of the Fire Brigades’ Board. In 18y7 it was found that the old bell tower erected in 1884 was unsafe, and a new one piaced in position, and two years later a members’ room was added. In 1909 water mains were laid in the streets of the town, and were a source of satisfaction to firemen, and since that date the Water Trust have made considerable additions, owing to the rapid growth of the town. Towards the end of 1912 tile Fire Brigades’ Board contracted with the Postal Department to have eight street alarms affixed to telephone posts, and also the placing of bells or buzzers in the residences of six of the members. One or the first pieces of silver plate presented to the Brigade was' given by Mr W. C. Allen in 1904, and since that time

the glass cases that adorn the Brigade’s station has been considerably added to, until today it almost resembles a jeweller’s shop. Mr J. H. Spark was captain of the Brigade until the year 1894, being succeeded by Mr Frank

WH YChevrolet can offer such marvelously fine cars at such remarKably low prices !!

General Motors.


The Chevrolet Motor Company is a unit of the General Motors Corporation—the greatest automotive organisation in the world. The vast resources and engineering facilities of this organisation are largely responsible for Chevrolet’s matchless value.


Proving Ground.


The General Motors Proving Ground, comprising a tract of 1245 acres, is located at Milford, Michigan. Here, Chevrolet cars are under constant (test— driven day and night, under every condition of road and load.

Backed by the General Motors Corporation, with its great research laboratories, its world-famed proving ground and its matchless engineering staff—the Chevrolet Motor Company, with its marvellously equipped 12 great factories, enjoys manufacturing advantages that are absolutely unique in the low-priced motor car field! As a result, Chevrolet offers the greatest pound-for-pound value in the history of the automotive industry—and Chevrolet dealers everywhere are enjoying a constantly increasing volume of sound, profitable business.


Research Laboratories.

A technical staff, representing every science related to the design and construction of motor vehicles, is continually testing and experimenting in the General Motors Research Laboratories—in an endeavour to improve the quality of Chevrolet cars.


12 Great Factories.

Chevrolet cars are manufactured in 12 great factories, located at strategic shipping points throughout the country. Every factory is equipped with the most modern machinery known to engineering science—performing every manufacturing operation with maximum efficiency.


Volume Production.

Chevrolet is building cars a,t the rate of 4,5C0 a day! Because of this enormous production, Chevrolet is able to purchase materials in tremendous quantities—at the lowest prices available. And these savings are passed on the purchasers of Chevrolet cars in the form of increased quality and value.


£199


£195


| Touring Car

With Full Equipment


Ton Truck- -

The most powerful ton Chassis available today. Five Tyres and Tubes and Standard Equipment. No extras to buy.


PARKER BROS.,


DISTRICT DEALERS and SERVICE

MANNERS-SUTTON ST., COLAC.

Also at Liebig Street, Warrnambool

Agents for...

BRITISH TWIN


DOUGLAS MOTOR CYCLES THE rAMOlJS

Parkes, who held the position for 20 years. Mr J. P. It. Helmore was the next to hold the position of captain, and for five years carried out tne duties successfully.

In 1919 Mr H. Matthews was appointed captain, and holds the position today. The secretarial duties were carried •.out by Mr W. A. Walker tor 12 years, being succeeded by Mr G. Vesey, who held the position until 1923, when Mr W. C. Corigan succeeded to the office, the duties of .which he discharged to the satisfaction of all the members today. After being hi occupancy of the old spot on the Memorial Square for 30 years, the time came when the Brigade had to find new premises, and after many public meetings and discussions with the Council and Fire Brigades’ Board, the present station In Dennis Street was opened on 25th July, 1923. Since that date a station keeper’s residence has been secured, and also a motor fire engine installed, thus bringing the Colac Fire Brigade amongst the foremost of the country brigades as regards equipment. At the annual demonstrations held by the Fire Brigades’ Boara, Colac has always had representatives, and they have been very successful in their efforts to keep the flag flying for the Colac Fire Brigade.

Onion Growing.

The value of the land for onion growing especially is not based alone on the quantity or the tonnage the ground yields, but on the exceptional keeping qualities of the bulbs. They can be kept for a year and exported to any part of the world.

To the Weering district onions belongs the distinction of having gained first award and medal at the great Wembley Exhibition. For the purpose of testing the keeping and carrying qualities of the onions, portion of the Wembley consignment was shipped back to Australia to the owner at Weering, where they arrived in perfect condition, fit to be exhibited again.

Last season about 2500 acres were under cultivation in this district, and while some crops yielded 8 to JO tons to the acre, the average would be about 6 tons. £20 per ton was the ruling price for some months. Many growers obtained returns of £ 120 per acre and over.


Dennis Street Fire Station, erected 1923.

Full Complement of 30 Officers and Men, with Four Reserves (without Caps).

Papers.

Colac is well served in the way of newspapers. There are two publications, the “Colac Herald,” and “Colac Reformer”—which are issued on alternate days. Both journals devote a considerable amount of space in reporting local news, and advocating anything which makes for the progress of the town. Each has up-to-date jobprinting establishments. There are also two other printers in the town—Messrs Brown and Holmes, and Mr J. C. Roach.


Frequently the capital cost of this onion growing land, even though purchased at £100 per acre, is realised from the proceeds of one crop. The rental value of prime onion land is from £8 to £12 per acre per annum.

Although prices for onions for the past two years have not been good, there are years when the market is over supplied and as low as £2/10 to £3 per ton is all that can be got, but from present indications this season is likely to be one of fair prices. It costs about £5 to produce a ton of onions.


Millinery

Ribbons

Dresses

Coats

Cardigans

Hosiery

Haberdashery


Well Assorted Stocks of NEEDLEWORK & THREADS


TAYLOR’S

STORES...

H. S. LEWIS, Sole Proprietor.

MURRAY STREET, COLAC


Flannels

Blankets

Sheetings

Calicoes

Flannelettes

Baizes

Towels


Corsets and Underclothing


The House of Keenest Prices.

OUR SPECIALTY

Men's Heavyweight Pure Indigo Twill Suits—guaranteed to give perfect wear —Tailor cut and finish, at £.5/5/-


The Latest Dress Goods


$

1



YES!

I am riding home to Colac on my old cycle and am calling' on ;; : :

H. L. ELSTON,

to secure the LATSET 1928 MODEL

AUSSIE CYCLE

Don’t miss the opportunity, while in Colac, to secure one of these Famous Cycles


The 1928 PRICES are RIGHT. Terms arranged to suit your repuirements.


SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL BUILDER The Aussie Cycles are Built to Last.

The Shop with the Goods-

H. L. ELSTON,

Phone 166,


Gellibrand Street, Colac.

‘Printers, bookbinders & Manufacturing Stationers,

16 Murray Street, Colac.

s^x^r


Have in Stock a Large Assortment of Office Requisites, Fancy Boxed Stationery, Birthday and other Cards, Wallets. Handbags, Fountain Pens, Useful Presents, Etc. Post Card Views of Colac and District in great Variety.

Complete Stocks of Carbon Papers, Typewriting Paper, Ribbons and all Kinds of Typewriting Accessories on hand, $


I





Agents for Peacock Bros.’ Business Systems, Acknowledged to be the laSt word in labor-saving devices for the office in all professions and trades. Consult us about your bookkeeping problems.

Agents for Royal Typewriters. There are now over forty users of these machines in Colac,—all Royal enthusiasts. Not the leaSt important factor when purchasing a Typewriter is the knowledge that quick service is available in the event of failure of some adjustment. We are on the spot!

si ns

Note the Address—16 Murray Street, Colac. ’Phone 57.


; “Mount Bruno, ' Glenrowan, 16/1/28.


Home to Colac.    v

Home again to the land of childhood,

Back once more to the fields of old—

Some from the city, the plain, and wildwood— Scene of their dreams of fame and gold.

Colac! City of glimmering waters,

Nestling there like a jewelled stone,—

Gather together your lovely daughters To call your wandering children home.

Exiles—long from your lakes of beauty, Wanderers far,—they went to roam,

But filial thoughts and a loving duty Calls them again to their native home.

In the passing years our hearts were yearning— And we hear with joy the “back home” call,

And all our thoughts are fondly turning To the spot that seems the best of all.

Some have left thee, and gone forever,

On the “one-way” trail they have drifted far,

In the mystic land of the Never-Never—

Perchance they watch from a distant star.

Some may stay—to leave thee never,

To seek far fields—too tired to roam,

But the “wanderlust” it calls forever,

To lure the roamer away from home.

Colac! City of gleaming waters,

Fairest Queen of the Western Plain,

Gather together your lovely daughters To welcome the wanderers home again.

EDWARD JONES.


R. Ball and Son,

Hay and Corn Merchants;

Bromfield Street, Colac.

All Rinds of Prime Farm Produce on hand at current Rates.

AGENTS FOR-

Queensland Insurance Company Limited. Massey-Harris Farming Implements.

Cuming, Smith and Company's Chemical Fertilisers..



Produce forwarded to all parts.


®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®® ®®®®®®®®®®®(s^s®(^^<<!>®®®®®(S .x^txsxjxsxsxscixsx^

ft*


TE ARO.

ROBERT FILLER,

furnisher aqd picture f ranier.

MURRAY STREETCOLAC.

Window Blinds made to Order.

Picture and Photo Frames to Order.

rE®®®®&®®®sm>®®®s®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®&s®<i^<(^/7 ®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®s

62

c


f



ILLUSTRATED HISTORY OP THE TOWN AND DISTRICT.


Barham River,—Apollo Bay.

Where, at Apollo Bay’s Paradise, the sun

Through bush and tree-fern seeks in vain his way, Where Barham’s bubbling fountains darkly run And night prevails before the close of day.    I’

BROMFIELD STREET,

^ ^ d *\    /*yy s? '•yTyy '•vstfsysx •v#' /•vjvsvsy** ^'•v*v#y?/*\ *y«' (5


Phone 83


(t. F. Sydenham & Son,

(G. F* SYDENHAM, Auctioneer)

Farm and Property Salesmen.

Farm, Subdivisional and Clearing Sales Condu&ed in any part.

We hold Regular Weekly Sales of Vehicles, Furniture, Produce and Sundries Every Thursday.


<g Agents for: H. V. McKay Sunshine Farm Implements; Greenslade Milking Machines and Rutland Engines. Louis Coen’s Wireless, Pty., Ltd.; South British Fire Insurance Co.

/. A.THOMPSON and SONS,

34-38 MURRAY STREET, COLAC.

SEWERAGE and ELECTRICAL CONTRACTORS.

E. and A. Thompson hold First Class M.M.B W.

Licenses-

SEE US FIRST and Keen your money in your own Town.


Our Electricians are always at your Service.

w Water Laid on. Cans, Vats, and all Dairy Utensils, made on the Premises.

J


Harvey and Breen

Auctioneer, Land, Stock and House Agents. Murray Street, Colac.

w


Pig Sales Held Fortnightly.


| Stock Sales Held Weekly.


(Victoria Hal) Buildings.)

Fire Insurances Effected.


<

010:010:0:0;


®®®(IXlX*)®<!XlXiXsXsXiXlXiXiXjXiXi^.«XS>®®5XlKtX5Xj)<SXs)®®®®(J^S>S®<5Xi>®


View of Colac District.

Electric light.

The State Electricity Commission controls the distribution of current throughout the town and district. At present the town requirements are supplied by a high tension transmission line from Geelong, a distance of 45 miles. A branch line also supplies current to Cororooke, Alvie, Warrion and Beeac, small townships within the Shire of Colac. Ultimately the whole of the Western District will be linked up with the State’s great Morwell scheme.

Colac Annual Regatta.

The most popular and successful gathering held hero is the Colac Annual Regatta on New Year’s Day. The fixture has grown each year until it is now the lnrgeot of its kind in the State, competitors and crews coming from all parts to try conclusions with our local oarsmen. The attendance at the 1928 Regatta was a record one, and it is estimated that there was 10.000 present. Dr. L. O. C. Bayer, the President, and Mr Dave Begley, secretary, carry out their duties, not only in name, but in efforts, and to these gentlemen particu’arly and also the committee, the great success of the Regatta is due.

Caledonian Society.

The Cclac Caledonian Society is one of the strongest in the State, having a membership of 300. The success of the Society is to a great extent due to the Chief (Major R. A. Ramsay), President (Captain R. E. Baker), and the energetic Secretary (Mr Allan McKenzie). These gentlemen are greatly assisted in their efforts in keeping the Scottish sentiment uppermost by a council (consisting of leading Scotsmen of the town) and a really active advisory committe of ladies and gentlemen who look after the social side of the Society’s activities.

One of the chief features of the Society is the scholarships, inaugurated some years ago for the children of members (8 awarded to end of December, 1927).

In the settlement of overseas folk, over 500 new settlers from overseas have been placed in positions through the medium of the Society during the past five years.

FOR REAL-



lolololololoiQI


Dodge Brcs. Cars


Graham Bros. Trucks.

All Dodge Cars are Fitted with North-East Electric System, Five-Bearing Crankshaft, Air Cleaner, Side Lights, One Piece Windscreen, Cowl Ventilator, and Five Balloon Tyres and Tubes.................

W. T. RUSSELL, Local Agent,

Manners-Sutton Street, Colac.

ILLUSTRATED HISTORY OP THE TOWN AND DISTRICT.

Colac Competitions.

The first musical and elocutionary competitions were held in 1908, and were carried on with almost phenomenal success for about six or seven years, when for some unknown reason interest in them waned, and they were abandoned for a number of years. The stern competition, for which so much rigid preparation was necessary, was responsible for the ultimate success of quite a number of musicians and elocutionists, whose names are well-,known to most people. While in their zenith of popularity, interest in the competitions was so great that the Victoria Hall was crowded nightly, and it was not an unusual thing for crowds to gather in front of the hall at least an hour before the doors were opened. Their fame was second only to that of South Street, and choirs and orchestras cam» from Ballarat. Geelong. Camper-down, Terang and Beeac, to contest for places with three local choirs, an orchestra and choir, under the baton of Mr Louis Lavater, being successful on several occasions A revival of the competitions took place three years ago and a new generation of contestants has appeared and have interested and delighted new audiences. The President of the committee is Mr L. Quinton, ^.nd Mr Jf. R Brown is secretary. They are well supported by a large and energetic committee.

Colac Golf Club.

The Colac golfers have every right to proclaim themselves as one of the most progressive sporting bodies in the district. Golf can almost be described as a new game, just beginning to make its presence felt, in a large numerical sense as to players, in the world. It was about thirty years ago, when a few enthusiasts started to play the game at “Little Barongarook,” now known as “A1 tona,” at Colac East. Weathering the ridicule of many who cinsidered it silly, “to knock a little ball along the ground, and then walk a mile after it,” a serious start to form a links was commenced by Mr George Angus. As the outcome of his enthusiasm, the Colac racing and recreation reserve was selected as the site for the links There they have remained ever since, but perhaps no links in Australia have undergone so many changes in design. The principal foundation members, who did much to start the game in Colac, were the late W. Bannister, T. W. Hancock, R. S. Murray and Geo. McLeod There have been many changes in the membership list, but two of the present members played with the foregoing nearly twenty years ago. They are John Hancock and J. S. Brown, the former joining up some little time ahead of his confrere, who once held office as secretary. The present office-bearers are:—D.    M. Dunoon, Presi

dent; A. C. Champion, Secretary; and A. Sears, Treasurer. One of the greatest workers during the history of the club was H. L. Parslow, who acted as secretary for a term of eight years, resigning therefrom last year. At present the financial turnover of the club runs into approximately £1000 per year, and practically the whole of that money is spent in Colac.. Such a record proves that it must stand alone in sporting clubs as one that is a good business proposition for the town. The present membership is approximately 180 ladies and gents, with subscriptions totalling over £400. A great future lies ahead of this progressive body, especially in view of the fact that the trustees of the ground recently engaged Alex Russell, the well-known links designer, to plan a new links, although just at present what shall be done in regard to his design is in abeyance. The club has enjoyed playing over a full 18-holes course for two years, with a distance of a shade over 6000 yards, and a par of 74, thus constituting one of the few standard links outside the metropolitan area.

View of Colac District.

Colac Poultry and Kennel Club.

There are many people greatly interested in poultry raising, and this Society has for its object the introduction of good stock for the betterment of the runs. Successful shows have been held of recent years, and today this Society ranks as one of the foremost of country Societies. It has been very fortunate in having the use of the finest buildings in the State for its annual show. These buildings are lent gratuitously by Messrs J. G. Johnstone and Co. Pty. Ltd. The President is Mr Geo. S. Cameron, whilst the secretarial duties are in the capable hands of Mr Cam Hay;

Stanley jBairs

.............Caligzapfyst


txsxjxsx*>®®«x^^


“Wilsden.” SKENE STREET,


WARRNAMBOOL.


Phone 425


SPECIALIST—in Illuminated Address, Handwritten Ca;lir g Ca: ds, Monograms, Inscriptions BooKs, Bible' Etc.


INSPECTOR

MUTUAL LIEE AND CITIZENS ASSURANCE CO. LTD,

456 Collins Street, Melbourne.    Phone 287 Central


WESTERN PRODUCE AND IRONMONGERY STORE.


WE STOCK—

Chaff, Barley, Pollard, Wheat Bran, Oats, Flour, Etc., Galvanised Iron Baths, Porcelain Enamel Baths, Galvanised Fittings, Galvanised Pipes, Lavatory Basins, SinKs, Kerosene, Lubricants, Oils Benzine and Grease. Tents, Tarpaulins, Hessian, Horse and Cow Rugs, StacK Covers Rope and Cordage, Guns, Rifles, Cartridges, Fencing Wire, Wire Netting, Hose. Wire Strainers, Garden ToolsTaps and Fittings, Enamelware, Lampware, Tinware. Paints, Oils, Colors and Brushes.


A. J. PARKER & CO.,

W. H PARKER and A. J. PARKER, Sole Proprietors.

Ironmongers and Produce Merchants.

MURRAY STREET, COLAC.


Ag'ents for—International Harvester Co., New Zealandis $ Milking' Machines, New Record Motor Saws I


Mt. Lyell Manures.


TELEPHONE 401. @


o:o;g:o;vo:o:o:o:o;o:o:q


Illustrated history of the town and district.

Football.


Cricket.


L. Moore, R. Rankin, Jack Carney, senr, and junr., L. McGowan, T. Brown, H. Gainger and many others. There are now two fine ovals in Colac. There were 6 junior and five senior clubs last season. With a wonderfully fine lot of young players coming on, more clubs are likelv to be formed this year, so that all goes well with football in Colac and district.


In the days gone by, when there was a splendid turf wicket and a ground howler and coach, Colac cricket was at its best. The result was very keen public interest with M.C.C. and other strong elevens. Our most stylish and consistent bat was H. E. Bullivant, and at that time he was one of the best wicket-keepers in the State. Ke was a University taught cricketer, and he played in first class cricket in Melbourne for some years. Cam Brady was another brilliant stumper, and a good bat. He afterwards played with the M.C.C. First Eleven. The late Jack Bradley was another expert ‘keeper, and he could hit to some extent when at the crease. Albert Hancock was a very fine batsman, while ’’Minah” Kelly was perhaps the greatest hitter Colac has had. The late S. Car-frae was the stone-waller of the day. He was solid as the proverbial rock, and frequently broke down many a fine bowling side. The late R. S. Murray, one of the best sports Colac has ever had, was a dashing bat and a fast bowler. Another fine sport in the late A. H. Kennedy, who lost his life in the South African War, was a brilliant bat and a big hitter. Either he or Kelly could hit a ball into the lake or across the roadways. Ernie McLeod was one of the best all-rounders Colac has produced, but he retired from the game at an early age. The late W. James was undoubtedly the finest bowler Colac has produced. W. Vagg was another star bowler in his palmy days. Ivan Forbes was a fine good all-rounder and Jack James stood out for his brilliancy in the field. At the present time we still have some capable exponents of the game such as Allan McKenzie, Jay Johnstone, E. Hynes, Reg Wallis and others, and a wonderful crop of juniors, some of whom show possibilities of becoming top-notchers. Colac has done very well in Country Week competitions, and it is expected that in the forthcoming tourney the present team will again give a good account of itself.

Thanks.

The publishers of this book desire to extend their thanks to Messrs Brown and Holmes; Mr W. Richmond (Colac “Reformer”), Victorian Railways’ Printing Office; also to Mr. E. Bugg, Photographer, for assistance in the

provision of illustrations for this publication.

Right from its earliest history Colac has been noted for its fine footballers. Many of the best of the Metropolitan clubs were defeated here at various times. Played in open paddocks, no “gates” were then thought of. and the happy idea of meeting expenses was arrived at of selling members’ tickets, to be worn in the hat at matches. Legend hath it that after such games with Melbourne teams great barn dances would follow at night time, with the punch bowl as the honored method of toasting each other’s health. Football was a decidedly hefty game at that time, compared to which the present is considered by old-timers but a parlor pastime Football continued to progress up through the years, and it probably reached its highest peak in the 80’s and early 90’s, culminating with the Titanic struggles with Warrnambool. Both sides had some of the most brilliant footballers in Victoria in their ranks, and the district became great recruiting grounds for Melbourne and Geelong clubs. After these contests local competitions were inaugurated. There were occasional breaks, but they have practically continued ever since. The great war gave the game a decided set-back here, but last season the standard of play reached a very high level, so that the forthcoming season’s prospects are decidedly bright. Some stars of the past and up to last year were: —J. Hancock, C. Foley, J. Sheedy, J. Hart, V. M. Pearson, D. O’Shea, R. Bevan, D. Moloney, J. Neylon, A. S. Goddard, J. M. Bailiff, Jack James,’ R. Roach. J. Wauchope, J. Bird, C. Belyea, J. King, A. Embrey.

I.    R. Forbes, J. and L. Lineen, L. McIntyre, J. O’Dowd, fthe public erected a tombstone over his grave when he died as a result of a railway accident), W. Gaylard,

J.    Haberfield, G. McLeod, Ben Sandford, Lampe, Mc-Conky, W. Howarth, B. Smith, R. Hickey, Kervin Bros, J. Dare, J. Finnigan, J. Doble. Mel Gainger, L. Amiel, Jack Threlfall, Topp Bros, Stephens, Col McKay, Smith,

Coastal Scene, Apollo Bay.

Gives Utmost in Motor Car Value




CRYSTAL GARAGE, Manners-Sutton Street, -- Colac.

& JOYCE,

Auctioneer,

Land and Estate Agents,

SEE US if you want to BUY OR SELL a

PROPERTY.

Loans Negotiated, Insurances effected. If you want Secondhand Furniture, call at our AUCTION MART.


Telephone 37.


Murray Street, Colac

*



Colac Rifle Club.

The Colac Rifle Club in one of the oldest in Australia, being No. 14 on a list of clubs, which totalled 1114. It came into existence about. 50 years ago, and has preserved its entity as a club ever since. Of recent years the nunie -ical strength has not been large, but enthusiasm has always been characteristic of its membership. Except for a vacation of two or three weeks during the Christmas and New Year holidays, shooting is carried on at tbo range or at some other club’s range, without intermission during the year. The cluh has had many good marksmen connected with it and such names as Clarrie Williams (twice King’s Prizeman), F. C. Kelly W. G. Gunn, and others are well-known to many, not necessarily followers of the pastime. The great rifle fixture in the Western District of Victoria is the annual competition for the possession of the Cora ogam Re Challenge Shield, a magnificent sterling silver trophy presented by the late J. C.

.Citizens' Shield, which is also an old-established contest. Miniature shields accompany this trophy for each of the members of the winning team. Individually, two members of the club have stood out at the annual matches of the South Western District Rifle Clubs’ Prize Meeting, which is held at Warrnambool, when Messrs W. R. Hoimes and M. R. Brown, were successful in winning the championship of this portion of the State. Following are the office-bearers for this    year:—Captain, M. R.

Brown; Secretary, C. Stewart, Treasurer, C. H. Johnstone; Committee, Jas. Baillie. V. N. Pearson, F. Hope, B. Colyer.

Apollo Bay Pier.

Manifold, Esq., about 25 years ago, and valued at £250.

It is held for tw'elve months only by the successful club for the year, and gold medals are presented to each mem ber of the w inning team. The Colac Club was the first to win it (1902), and were also the first to win it twice (190S). A Colac team has captured the Warrnambool


Geo. James


Oft-


Started business as an Undertaker in June, 1895 and by strict attention to his calling has been able to keep abreast of the times, and today has one ol the best-equipped and most up-to-date undertaking businesses in the State. He has conducted funerals in almost every part of the State, and with his two motor-hearses, which, by the way, (were both built by himself on the premises), and motor-coach, he has been able to travel long journeys and convey the body of an old resident (Back to Colac) for interment in the local Cemetery. The longest journey that Mr James has been called upon to conduct a funeral was 437 miles. In the work-shop, which is up-to-date with electric motor and circular saws, and patent sanding machines and hot point for the glue pot. Mr James and his son, Garnet, do all their own work.


Manners-Sutton Street, COLAC.

Phone 52.

Colac Angling Club.

The Colac Anglers’ Club was formed in 1926 with a membership of 60. The object was to have the Colac Lake stocked with Brown and Rainbow Trout. It was considered that should the efforts of the club prove successful, this like would become one of the most favored fishing waters in Australia; for it is particularly suited to that class of *sh 100,000 yearling trout would be required. This large order proved too great for the supply, and consequently they have not been obtained. Trout fry is available, but as the lake contains an enormous amount of English Perch, the fry would fall an easy prey to the perch, pelicans and cormorants.

Many angling competitions have been held on the lake, and several trips to the district streams after trour. and blackfish have been successfully carried out.

Officers:—President;    Mr W. J. Churchland; Vice

Presidents: Messrs J. Hancock and P. Slade; Auditor:

J. S. Missen; Committee: Messrs W. M. Cunningham, A K. Short, C. H. Foley, Chas. Gaylard, G. G. Bree, Geo. Williamson, J. Hanniver, R. Gordon, C. Morrow.

Bowling Clubs.

Bowls becoming so popular in recent years it was decided that in addition to the Colac Central Bowling Club, whose fine green is on the Memorial Square, to form a second one—The Colac Bowling Club. This club’s green is situated in Manifold Street, and has some fine buildings erected, where, in addition to bowls, the members foregather to while away time in other games. The membership lists of both clubs are in good positions, and this year a local competition was opened under the title of Corangamite Bowling Association, and the games have proved wonderfully interesting. At the Central Club's green a Ladies’ Club plays a very prominent part in the club’s activities, and, apart from having some splendid .bowlers in their ranks, look after the social side. The President of the Colac Club is Mr E. Burns, and Mr W. E. Boyes fills the position of secretary. At the Central Green, Mr A. M‘Kay has held the position of President for the last two seasons, and the secretarial duties are capably carried out by Mr A. J. Handley.

2EBBS33EBS

Apollo Bay, looking South from Marriner’s Hill

Gun Club.


Colac Turf Club.

This club has been in existence since the year 1872, and has now one of the prettiest and most up-to-date courses outside Melbourne. Three meetings are held yearly, viz:—Boxing Day ,Colac Cup meeting, February, and King’s Birthday. The President, Mr John Hancock, in an enthusiastic official. The secretarial duties are carried out by Mr E. N. Thomas. One of the foundation members and trustees of the club In Mr George H. Bill, is still an active member of the committee.

The Colac Gun Club can well claim to be a very progressive body of sportsmen. Many years ago owing to the energies of the early members, a fine club house was built adjoining the racecourse. Matches are held regularly, and no more interesting sport can be found than by taking part in these matches, particularly those held at Xmas time. Sharp shooters from all parts attend, and keen rivalry is the result. The President is Mr W- H. Clements and the Secretary, Mr H, J, Gaylard.

31    '    '    " *    1

<•>


SUTTON’S

Hairdressing and

1 Tobacconists’

<•>

1 Saloon,

26 MURRAY STREET, COLAC.

Our Motto—

Cleanliness and Satisfaction to ail Customers,

Gents’ Shaving. 6d.    Shampooing and Hair Cutting, V-

Ladies’ Shing'ling, cut to any style. 17-School Boys Haircut, 6d


LAL. MATTHEWS and


JACK GAYLARD,

(Late Farrier Sergt- AT.F-)


General BlacKsmiths and Farriers,

Corangamite Street, Colac.

Shoeing a Speciality.


1 Everybody’s BlacKsmith.


Tennis in Colac.

Tennis clubs in Colac do their share in providing recreation for their members in a very satisfactory manner, and the membership of the various clubs showed marked increases year after year. Being a game in which the ladies play a prominent part, the secret of the success of this game lies in no small way to that fact. The annual tournament, which is played at the end of January,

is one that brings players from all parts of the State, and Colac is looked upon as the mecca of tennis. These tournaments last for a week, and a considerable amount of work is entailed by those who are entrusted with its management. The President of the Tennis Association is Dr. A. E. Brown, and the duties of secretary are carried out by Mr J. P. McKnight. The Grass Tennis Association have purchased a property, whereon it is intended to establish 24 permanent grass tennis courts.


Lake Barongarook—Entrance to Lake Colas-


CAKES FOR ALL WHO APPRECIATE QUALITY.

Cream Puffs, Cream Cup, Cream Kisses, ......................1/3 Doz.

Cheese Cakes, Tarts, Coffee Roils, French Pastry -    .    .    - 9d Doz

Cakes of Quality and all good things to eat. Try the “PLEASU” for your Morning and Afternoon Teas.

TRY OUR SPECIALS FOR “HOME TO COLAC” WEEK.

Lemon Biscuits, Coffee, Abernethy, Sugar and Cocoanut Biscuits.

These Cakes Excel because every Ingredient is of the Highest Quality and because they are brought together with skill that produces the most Delicious Flavour.    . .

GRILLS AT ALL HOURS. PRICES ARE RIGHT.

Morning and Afternoon Lea with Four

Pieces of Cake - - - - -

9d

Poached Eggs and Toast . .-. .-.

1/3

Cold Meat and Tomatoes - -

1/6

Rump Steak,.....

1/9

Bacon and Eggs,.....

1/9

i Ham and Egg......

i/9

1 Sausage and Eggs - - - -

1 9

XsXsX*;


O

&


£

T

¥

£

COLAC’S LAUNDRY

Family Washing Catered for at REDUCED PRICES-

Orders called for and delivered —    by Request.    —


Let us have your COLLARS,

— All Care TaKen. —

Our WORK is our ADVERTISEMENT, <$§ A TRIAL SOLICITED.

note the

ADDRESS...


E. M0 SMITH, Gellibrand St.,


OTOTOTOTOTOTOIO


NEAR ALLEN'S BOARDING HOUSE.


5X9®®®®SX5)®Ks)0(sXS)®®®®®®®<sX5)®®«S>®®®®®®®(s)®®®®®®®S^.

THB-U


COLAC HERALD

Published on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

SUBSCRIPTION £ 1 in Advance ; £1/4/' if Booked

A’



¥


1 We have the most Modern Equipped Job Printing Plant. IF YOU ARE NOT USING I I OUR PRINTING, THEN YOU ARE NOT USING THE BEST TO BE HAD. We do Print- | 1 ing which satisfies all people at all times. If, in Printing, you’ve never experienced ali | | that the word nSatisfactonM conveys, then you have never tried us...............§

| JOHN WOODS PTY. LTD.    Phone 4s.|

t*A®>®®®®®<®®<SXs)®®<aXsXSXs)<sXsXsXSK2X5Xs>®<5x5xsX5X5)SX5X£KSX£>SXaX5X2><2Xsv^ ®®®®®®®«>®®®®®<*>ex5xs><ix^^


•AlASA»,vS>AASXS)ii)®(


i y

# F. Calaio,

f4


Am


FRUITERER and CONFECTIONER.

Fresh Fruit and Vegetables always cn hand and delivered-

Summer DrinKs Our Specialty and Kept on Ice.


Sundaes, Fruit Salads, and a large variety of Iced DrinKs


I    Telephone 367.

'9®<j>®<4X*Xs>®®<iXiXsXi)®®®<5XsX®<SXS)®®®<jX^


Watson’s



TOM WRIGHT,

(Late A.I.F.)

The Go-Between

COLAC

and

ILO BAY,

Motor Service Daily to Apollo Bay, leaving Union Club Hotel at 11 a.m.

A visit to this Wonderland of Scenic Beauty will live long in your memory.

Quality and Service

are everything when Buying Groceries.

We give the Best Value for | your money.

Our stocks are lines which we sell with the confident assurance of giving satisfaction.

Store, I

MURRAY STREET .... COLAC. 1

Phone No. 294.


Book Early to Avoid Overcrowdiug.

<aX»>®<SX5Xs)SXaX5X5><SxSX5xSx5>®KS)<3)^^C5y®<5>®^®<2XsX5)<SXSXa3®®<S<Sxg>®<5X®><^®

80

Colac Free Library.

Colac Juvenile Band.

The Colac Free Library was established in 1S71, in premises adjacent to the Murray Street Bridge, and lor nearly 30 years these premises were utilised. In 1901 the citizens of Colac erected the present Library buildings as a war memorial in recognition of the conclusion of the Boer War. The opening of the new library took place in the same year. The building is situated in the Memorial Square with ample frontages on Murray and Hesse Sts. The Boer War Memorial Tab]et commemorates the names of Edgar Quartus, Robertson, Noel Leonard Calvert and Arthur Ed. Murphy, who were killed in action, and Thomas Yates, who died immediately on his return to Victoria. The library has been fortunate in obtaining a number of valuable pictures, on loan from the trustees of the Melbourne Public Library. There are 8000 books available and the leading contemporary publications are available to readers. Mr C. Lorimer, President, and Mrs Lidgerwood, librarian, are whole-hearted and zealous officials, and the splendid manner in which the library iconducted, also the facilities available, is a tribute to their work on its behalf.

©®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®®^

Efficient Service-Aiways.

Your Garden [roubles End,

WHEN YOU PURCHASE YOUR PLANTS AND SEEDS FROM

HANDLEY’S.

Today we have many more Customers than there was a year ago. This is the result of the quality of the goods we supply and satisfaction given to our customers.

Floral Orders made up and Cut Flowers supplied at the Shortest Notice. Choice Fresh Fruit arriving daily from the orchards. Vegetables grown special|y for our trade.

Iced Milks and Ices served in Our Fernery. Cool and Refreshing.

One of the greatest assets to a town is to have its own Band, and Colac is fortunate in having an exceptionally fine Juvenile Band. With the idea of starting a Juvenile Band, the trustees of the Citizens’ Band which had become defunct, agreed to hand over to the Juvenile Band Committee, the whole of the instruments, music stands, etc. The committee of the Colac Juvenile Band consists of:—President, Mr George James; Hon. Sec. and Treasurer, Mr J. Donovan.    Committee—Charles Helmore,

Charles Gaylard, John McDonald, and Allan Richardson. Representing the boys on the committee, Bandmaster J. K. Wilkie. These gentlemen are justly proud of their Juvenile Band. They were wise in their selection of a bandmaster. The committee feel more than pleased that Those who come “Back to Colac” will be welcomed by the Colac Juvenile Band consisting of boys of our own townspeople. The local bodies and committees; also of the surrounding districts, have had our Boys’ Band performing at their different functions, and one and all are greatly pleased with the music supplied. The boys have given three recitals in the Victoria Hall, and each of these were very largely attended, and from a musical standpoint as well as financially, were a great success. This band was inaugurated on May 1st., 1925, and has 25 playing members.

Rowing Club.

Of recent years this Club has made great strides, and has done a wonderful amount of good in fostering rowing in Colac. In 1927 a “Learn to Row” week was held, under the capable guidance of Mr Oxlade, of Hawthorn Club, and this was instrumental in securing a good many recruits for the Colac Rowing Club. Crews are to be seen on the water in almost any regatta that is held within the State, and this speaks well for the enthusiasm of members. The Club has for its President Mr T. Morrison, and Mr W. S. Morris is the right man in the right place as Secretary .The Club has also the social side well looked after, for at intervals during the winter months there is no more popular pastime than their “Palais de Danse” held at the Victoria Hall.


S. C. HANDLEY,

MURRAY STREET, COLAC.

Phone 249, day or night.

Soldier Settlers’ Farm, Colac District. 70 tons Mangels To The Acre


--------®®®«*SXS®®®®®®<|XS®®®®C!X^*)®®

rLLUSTRATED HISTORY OF THE TOWN AND DISTRICT.

CjXSXsXsXsXjXsXSXsXj)®®®®®®®®®®®^^

1    SINCLAIR    1

1    OPALINE    |

1    REG. U.S. PAT. OFF.    §>

MOTOR OIL.


For every machine of every degree of wear, there is a scientific Sinclair Oil to suit its speed and sea! its power.

WHOLESALE AGENTS :

DALGETY & CO. LTD.

Bourke Street, Melbourne, and Branches.

>    ! WARRNAMBOOL INSTITUTE LIBRARY j

4    .    WARRNAMBQOL VIC. 3280

illustrated history op the town and district.


Australian Made Product$7


r,

’’ ;

k \£

£7; 5.

I'/.- _ .

> ■ <55 ‘ » . s

k :y

&

i.. ,r^

/y •

A /,$




I

■ i


Sh$w clear while teeth, gums Itke coral now


“GETS-IT”

Ends Pain

in 3 Short Seconds

World’s Fastest Way

No matter where it is how bad it hurts, how long you’ve had it, or what kind of corn it is,

“GETS-IT” will ]■’

stop the pain in r'*-3 seconds. All pain goes at a touch. Then the corn loosens up and goes. You    „

walk, dance, wear tight shoes all you want. For your own sake try GETS-IT.” For sale everywhere. Costs very little.



Restoring dull, off-coiour teeth to polished whiteness quickly is a

_ recent dental achievement.

It’s been found that dingy teeth comes simply from a film that forms on teeth. A stubborn film old-type dentifrices did not successfully clear off. That’s why brushing fails you.

Run your tongue across your teeth and you can feel that film now—a sort of slippery coating. Beneath it are the white teeth you envy.

It keeps your smile unattractive because it absorbs discolourations from food, smoking, etc.

Now, in a new-type dentifrice called Pepsodent, a scientific combatant has been found. Leading dentists widely urge it. Works wonders on dingy teeth.

mmammmmmmtmwmmmmmmmm mark g

Pgps^dgnt

TRADE    —C——B—— ■ li■ i i >


Sold everywhere in two sizes.


2026


:o:o:o:oioio^!o!


§


■"V

i


687


At all Chemists and Stores.


i-'i


U..'i




•    S

ColdC==Tl?e    Home f

Bryan Bros.



Bat the Old is still New after 34 yeazs faithful Service.


AR

994.57

C683

L    ^


i


Wholly Set Up and Piloted at the

"Colac Herald” Office, Murray Street, Colac, Victoria, Australia.